Elizabeth's Extreme Chocolate Lover's Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I'm a pretty good cook, but kind of a hit or miss baker, so I was a bit scared after reading some reviews. This was my first time making a cake and frosting from scratch but the cake came out perfect. I'm usually not one for chocolate cake or frosting but I do LOVE rich, dark chocolates and this cake totally satisfied my chocolate tooth. It was decadent! I used mostly 70% cocoa for all the chocolate, and made the frosting and ganache first. I did have to reheat the ganache a little bit to get it to spread but then let it chill before adding the frosting. The cake alone is absolutely delicious even without the toppings, I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I was asked to make a dark chocolate cake for a friends birthday party last weekend. Although I am an above average cook I hate to bake. Since I couldn't say no I came looking for a recipe. This one was PERFECT!! I used 71% chocolate in the cake. Made a ghiradelli semi sweet mousse for the center and covered it in 1/2 dark, 1/2 semi sweet ganache. We served it with vanilla ice cream with hazelnut espresso vodka drizzled over both. I have never gotten so many compliments on anything. The presentation was stunning and the taste amazing. The cake did fit perfectly in 2 - 9 in. pans. It did look spongy still when I took it out but I took it out at the correct time anyway to avoid dryness. The tops of both cakes did sink in slightly but had no effect on the decoration of the cake. This will probably be the only chocolate cake I will ever make. At least when I am looking for a dark chocolate cake. I did not make the frosting so I cannot evaluate that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Mott, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I LOVED THIS CAKE AND HAVE TO SAY THAT ANY CAKE THAT YOU CAN MAKE SOME CHANGES TO AND IT STILL COME'S OUT VERY GOOD IS A WINNER IN MY BOOK ARE SHOULD I SAY IN MY RECIPES BOX. OK FIRST I DIDN'T HAVE 6 (1 ounce)UNSWEETENED CHOCOLATE I ONLY HAD ABOUT 3 {1 OUNCE }SQUARES SO I THAT AND I USED WHITE CHOCOLATE CHIPS AND ABOUT 4 TABLESSPOONS OF CREAM TO MELT THE CHOCOLATE AND I ALSO DIDN'T HAVE THAT MUCH DARK BROWN SUGAR SO I USED 1/2 CUP WHITE AND I DIDN'T HAVE SOUR CREAM AT ALL SO I USED BUTTERMILK AND I ONLY USED ABOUT 1/4 CUP OF WATER ,1/2 TEASPOON OF FRENCH VANILLA EXTRACT AND THE CAKE CAME OUT SOFT AND TASTY I PUT BUTTER CREAME FROSTING BETWEEN THE LAYERS AND TOP IT WITH CHOCOLATE GANACHE I USED ONLY 3 OUNCES OF BITTERSWEET CHOCLATE ,6 OUNCES OF WHITE CHOCOLATE CHIPES AND 2/3 cup OF HEAVY CREAM AND IT WAS TO DIE FOR SO THANKS FOR YOUR POST IT HELP ME IN SO MANY WAYS AND YES I DID MAKE SOME CHANGES BUT NOT THAT MANY AND MY CAKE WAS VERY VERY GOOD. THANKS SO MUCH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I've been making this cake for a while now, it is always the request of my friends for their birthdays. Very rich, very chocolately. It is almost required to eat it with vanilla ice cream. I serve it chilled as well to keep it fudgy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Very very heavy and rich. Do not refrigerate for storage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This cake is a big project, that's for sure; however, it's worth it. I gave it 4 stars only because I felt the cake part was a bit too dry. When I make this next time, I will add 1/4 c of oil to the cake part. I used parchment paper to make the cake come out of the pan more easily and it worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorklyn, Delaware, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
The perfect special occasion chocolate cake. I thought the frosting was a little too thin, so I added 3 more cups confectioner's sugar. Also, I didn't have cream, so I used 2% milk every time it was called for. It turned out even better than when I used cream the second time I made it! The normal milk made the ganache runny, so it soaked into the cake layer then hardened overnight. Crazy delicious! And, this cake weighs 10 lbs at least. Enough to feed 12 for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eva Amber
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I think that this recipe made a restaurant quality cake! I loved the ganache in the middle. Yum! Be advised that this cake takes a long time to put together, and makes a HUGE cake! I served it to 11 chocolate lovers, and we still had half of a cake left! Next time I will half the recipe, and then split the one layer horizontally, to make a smaller, rich cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I usually don't trust recipes I find on the internet. However, this recipe looked so good that I tried it out on a family gathering. It was really great. An option that I really enjoyed was for the ganache: I made it first, then let it set for about 3 hours while I made the rest of the cake, stirring it every once in a while. The chocolate I used for it was the Ghiradelli's 60% Cacao chocolate chips (also comes in a bar form). That chocolate is amazing and made the ganache to die for!!!! Also it says to grease and flour the pans and that is a good idea. I used pam and flour and that works amazing-perhaps better than butter or crisco. And do watch out for the changes in vanilla. The cake says 1 1/5 tablespoons vanilla, yet in the directions it says 1 1/5 teaspoons...I opted for the teaspoons and it turned out great. I had some fresh raspberries that I sprinkled on top and around the bottom of the cake. This cake is amazing and will be a favorite of mine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
It was so good! i love the picture she used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Carlie

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States