Elizabeth's Extreme Chocolate Lover's Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This cake was very good, everyone loved it. Though it was time consuming, it was actually pretty easy to make. Definitely worth the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
has heavenly frosting, but cake was very crumbly. I will use the frosting & Ganache reciepes for my other cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabriella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This cake is amazing! Definitely a good idea to collar the cake pans for baking. So decadent! I didn't alter the recipe at all. Perfect as is. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Awesome cake. It took longer than anticipated but well worth it. I dipped strawberries in granache and covered top of cake. Sent it over the top for chocolate lovers luncheon. Definately will make again next time will use the suggestion of hot coffee maybe even an espresso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This cake is awesome! To me it is best served cold and was even just as delicious several days after it was made. This is my favorite chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geno McKenna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsRo
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I'm a chocolate lover but I found this to be a bit overwhelming and too rich. My guests raved about it, but I can't be sure that they weren't being polite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
A lot of work...but definitely worth it! My family loved it. I got mini morsels and put them all on the top of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOLIEDREAMING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blairsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clymer, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This is one of my favorite cakes ever!! I am an extreme chocolate lover and this definitely hits the spot. I'm not a fan of the chocolate cream cheese icing, I usually substitute with a chocolate fudge icing instead. And the ganache is my fav!! Just heat up heavy cream in sauce pan (do not let boil) and pour over chopped up chocolate, stir until smooth, easiest way to make ganache!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SRTSTP09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Great Recipe! I used 60% semi-sweet chocolate bars and milk chocolate chips, because I already had those in my cupboard. It worked out fine. Also I did not have enough ingrediants on hand to go to the store so I doubled the ganache and used it as frosting. Absolutely delicious! I will try the original frosting though next time I make this because it sounds wonderful! BTW I made the cake and ganache the night before and frosted it in the morning. I was afraid that the ganache might be too hard, sitting in the fridge all night, but in the morning it was perfect frosting consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Great flavor, but the cake sunk - even if I baked it with the right temperature and time. Way too crumbly, sugary. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States