Elizabeth's Extreme Chocolate Lover's Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This is a great recipe....but a little advice on the ganache and buttercream. The professional trick to a ganache cake is to ice it in buttercream first, then chill for about an hour. Make the ganache and pour it over the whole cake. You will get a very smooth effect that looks awesome. With as much ganache as this recipe makes, you could do two pours, resting about 5 minutes between each, and get a really good coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Saxon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Excellent! Definitely takes a little experience if you've not baked much. I followed the advice of some other posters to ensure success. I almost forgot to add the boiling water which would have been tragic! I had no problems with the batter. I did have to cut the "hump" off of the top of my bottom layer. Definitely need to let the ganache harden a little for easier use. Seemed to make a ton of ganache, and I had to discard the rest. The buttercream frosting is to die for! I had to add additional cream though because my mixer couldn't handle the thickness. Also, for the middle, put the buttercream frosting on first, then the ganache, because the buttercream won't spread over ganache. I also used piping to decorate. I had to keep adding cream to the frosting for piping consistency. I also have so much buttercream frosting left- not sure where the original baker used it all. Takes about 3 hours to make, but well worth the time. Sinfully delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Metamora, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This is a great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
this is the most fantastic cake ever!! I actually made it twice once i took to a friend as a trial and they fought over the last piece then i took one to work and there was also nothing left over. I do agree that this is a very time consuming cake to make but if you follow the instructions it comes out perfect. I defiently will make this cake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
excellent! i used cake flour instead of all-purpose. added a little cocoa powder for extra choc. flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
absolutely amazing!!! thank you so much for this... the taste is perfect!! a complete delight for chocolate lovers! just remember to chill the ganache WELL before you spread it my boyfriend, who had never baked in his life , made this cake for me on my birthday and it was a big hit..!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I made this cake and everyone who tried it Loved it. I thought it tasted pretty amazing also. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Great cake, I would also use this with choc. frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This cake was very good, everyone loved it. Though it was time consuming, it was actually pretty easy to make. Definitely worth the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
has heavenly frosting, but cake was very crumbly. I will use the frosting & Ganache reciepes for my other cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabriella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States