Elizabeth's Extreme Chocolate Lover's Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by rct1908
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This cake is very rich. I cut each layer into 2 and ended up with a 6 layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is a great recipe, but the first time I made it, the two cake pans overflowed in the oven, so the next time I used 3 cake pans. Does she really mean egg YOLK? in the frosting? I used egg white. Marvelous birthday cake for a marvelous friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I've never given a review before, but this came out so wonderful I just had to let you know. I took it to our Wed. night meeting at church for a birthday. I got raves from everyone, except 2 of our 13, who don't care for chocolate. I pretty much went exactly by the recipie, but took advice from one review and instead of hot water added a cup of strong hot coffee. Also I didn't have enough bittersweet chocolate, so I used 1 C of milk chocolate for the ganache, but it was perfect. I don't usually make layered cakes, sooo.. I put the top layer the wrong side up, but not to worry, I pretty much covered that up w/frosting. I used one container of rasberries, and I definitely recommend that. I put them around the bottom and on top. I also took another recommendation an prepared some sweetened whipped cream. Most of us tried that but felt it didn't add anything, rather it distracted from the cake taste. I still have a little left in a Tupperware cake taker in the fridge, had no trouble with it drying out. Elizabethbh, thank you so much. I wish I'd taken a picture but I wasn't expecting it to be that good. Now it DID take longer than 1 hour, but I think I could do a lot better than that with practice. Also now allowance must be considered for cooling of things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
loved this recipe!!! My husband is a serious chocolate LOVER so this sounded just perfect for me to make for his birthday cake this year. It turned out amazing, it was moist and just delicious. One thing i did is i dug into the cake a little to make a small bowl shape that i poured my ganache into and chilled it made it perfect. I recomend this to all my friends when they ask for a good cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and the cake turned out wonderfully. My only addition was that I garnished it was chocolate shavings on the top and raspberries around the bottom (also helps hide flaws). It was extremely time consuming but well worth it and everyone commented how professional it looked. I made the buttercream frosting the night before and took it out of the fridge a few hours before the cake was done to let it get back to room temperature and re-whipped it in the mixer to soften it a bit. Like others suggested I made the ganache before the cake and put it in the fridge for a bit once it cooled. The cake itself was not very sweet so it was complemented very well but the rich, chocolatelyness of the ganache and buttercream frosting. I will definitely make this again for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This is soooo good. It reminds me of the double chocolate cake at buca di beppo. The only changes that I would make would be to not use the frosting and just go with the ganache and maybe add some fresh strawberries. The cake and the ganche are so good on their own and the frosting is delicious also but when added to the cake and ganche it is too much fat and sugar for me. I used gheridelli bittersweet chocolate for the ganache and omg, it was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Gray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This is an amazing cake! It is extremely rich and decadent. It is a little finnicky and takes longer than the recipe says (for me at least), but I get nothing but compliments when I make this. The extreme chocoholics of my family approve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Easy to follow recipe. Had no problem with any part of it. The icing was much better than others I've tried to make. Everyone loved this cake. My only change was to put fresh raspberries (two small cartons) in with the ganache. The raspberries cut the richness of the chocolate and add another level of flavor. I'd never done ganache before and used this website to understand it better. http://bigbaketheory.com/2012/02/24/ganache-101/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This cake tasted delicious. I made it for my adult daughter's birthday. The cake is so moist and the ganache and buttercream just the right amount of sweetness. I could only find semi-sweet chocolate chips, so maybe the ganache was sweeter than it was suppose to be, but still tasted amazing. Make sure to soften the cream cheese or it lumps and makes the decorating very impossible. It was the best chocolate cake I have ever made. My daughter loved it too! As did my chocolate loving family. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States