Elizabeth's Extreme Chocolate Lover's Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This was a very good tasting cake, I have made it several times and even won 3rd place in a local cook-off with it. It is however, time consuming to make and does require refrigeration which I found to slightly dry the cake out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
This cake is the definition of decadent. It is superior in most categories, however I wish it had better eye appeal. This cake is one of the best chocolate cakes I have come across.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
I have made this cake twice now and every time everyone has just loved it. It's a very rich and delicious cake. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
As someone who has never baked with ganache before, it would have been helpful to know that I should have refrigerated or whipped it before trying to spread it on the cake. It was a colossal disaster. The worst baking experience I have ever had. Ganache spilling everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
very rich. very moist heavy cake. I'd like to try it in a bundt pan with maybe a drizzle of icing. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
Amazing cake. The instructions are clear and precice which makes this spectacular cake easy to make. Delicious! Thank you. I'll keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LawyerChef11
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
Great...I made this cake for father's day..what a hit. I did have trouble getting it out of the pan, but it was nothing the frosting couldn't hide. I also did a few variations: I put a litte coffee liquor into my ganache and i whipped it so it'd be spreadable..I then covered the whole cake with it and let it set before putting on the delicious frosting...I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LawyerChef11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
I have died and gone to heaven! Wow! This cake is awesome! It is definitely worth the effort! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
GREAT cake recipe. I used a Godiva Chocolate buttercream recipe for the icing instead of the one listed (1 C butter, 2 C powdered sugar, 1/3 C Godiva Liquor) as I was hesistant about the egg in this icing recipe. The cake and ganach were one of the best combinations ever! The cake was moist and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
This was OK. Just watch the amount of vanilla listed in the ingredients versus what it says in the recipe itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States