Elephant Ears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I have made Elephant Ears only one time before this recipe, and it was basically a cinnamon roll that had been rolled flat before baking; so this was what I was expecting. For the reviewers who commented that they had to add a lot more flour to be able to handle the dough, here is what I did and all the ingredient amounts worked fine: instead of 'melting' the butter, cut 1/4 cup 'cold' butter into the flour mixture like you were making pie crust. Then the 1/3 cup of milk was the perfect amount. I prefer rolling my cinnamon roll dough thinner than what this recipe called for; then I spread the remaining 1/4 cup butter that had been 'softened' over the rolled out dough and sprinkled cinnamon-sugar over it. By rolling the dough thinner and cutting the rolled-up dough into 1" rolls, my flattened elephant ears were Miniature Elephant Ears, which suited me just fine, and those baked in 10 minutes. And were all eaten very quickly!! I would be interested in hearing some descriptions from others about what they consider Elephant Ears should be, since some of the comments said these were nothing like Elephant Ears; my limited experience with that name doesn't give me many clues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Not sure if it's because I had to refrigerate the dough for a bit, but it never bubbled in the oven and reminded us more of flattened cinnamon rolls than elephant ears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Since when do you bake elephant ears far from the real thing elephant ears are made with yeast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This is a five star recipe if you follow these instructions: You only melt 1/4 cup of butter. Then put in 3 TB of that butter with the dough, leaving 1 TB to brush on the dough later. Also, I always mix the 3 TB sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon together before sprinkling it on the dough. Finally, after you have patted the elephant ears down and put them on the cookie sheet, the recipe says to sprinkle them with more sugar. So if you follow these instructions, you will get nice elephant ears in 8-10 minutes. These are a family favorite and everyone loves them (if you use the correct amount of butter!!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Disappointment to the max
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Nothing like an elephant ear. It's more like a cookie. I followed the recipe exactly and it looked nothing like the picture. It was more like a cookie. Wish I would have read the reviews first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, except that i had to use extra flour on the board to get it to be able to be handled. I thought they were fantastic and delicious, though I rolled the dough and cut into four pieces then flattened them and they are a great alternative for cinnamon rolls! Great recipe...would also be great dipped in some chocolate.....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
immediate disappointment. nothing like elephant ear but hey, if you cut it up a little differently they could be thin cookie snacks?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I followed the recipy exactly! I think someone messed up! It was more like a large cinnomon cookie that didnt taste so great! Also if you only left it in the oven for 8 - 10 mins you would have nothing but dough! It took more like 25-30 mins! If anyone has ever been to a carnival... They know what an elephant ear tastes like!! Deep fried dough *yum*! Not this recipy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Nothing like an elephant ear. More of a cinnamon roll
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Elephant Ears

Watch how to make Elephant Ears, a fair food favorite.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States