Elephant Ears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I ended up heating the milk, sugar and salt in the microwave until it was warm, then adding melted butter instead of shortening. I also found that I prefer them rolled a little thicker, but they turned out perfect. My family thought they were better than the fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Mogstad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
never had any that fat before... always had thin one's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orient, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ranger, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
My wife tried making fried dough the other night wasnt this recipe and hers end up in the trash so i used this quick and easy recipe and walla best fried dough thanks ps just texed her at bingo told her were enjoying fried dough lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
OMG! Were these good!! No more waiting for fairs or carnivals to pop up to have these favourites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLoo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
The first time i made these we scaled the recipe back to only make three....big mistake.Why one may ask? WE ALL WANTED MORE!!! Just like any fair or carnival if not better. Why anyone would ever spend 5 or 6 dollars again for just one, I don't know. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I almost gave up because I took momtomany's advise on my 1st batch and added 3 TBS water to the dough- it make them doughnut like- mot like fair elephant ears at all. So then I tried one more time -while I still had the oil warm in the cast iron skillet. This time I cut the recipe down and made them EXACTLY like the recipe said and they were pretty darn close to what you can get at the fair. I spread a bit of butter on them before the cinnamon and sugar like they always did at the Indiana state fairs. I recommend following the recipe EXACTLY to get that bit of chewiness that fair elephant ears. I may try buttermilk though at a future date to see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Amazing! I made a half batch last night, just in case I screw up, but everyone was mad I didn't make more....absolutely delish! I did not put melted butter as others suggested, I did decrease cinnamon a bit and I also topped with powdered sugar for extra deliciousness! I was told to make again tonight,which I am in the process ofndoing! Thank for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa margitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I just tried this today. I had my husband and 6 kids try it. They said it was better than the one they had the day prior at the fair. I normally try a recipe properly and don't change anything important if I plan on rating, but we have only whole wheat flour. That is what I used. I made only half the recipe and it made 8, 8x4in ears. I omitted the last step of putting the sugar/cinnamon on top. Which really isn't important since it is a personal thing what to put on it. I just made a butter/powdered sugar/cinnamon mix and we put that on there. They loved it. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Great, doable recipe! Fun to make with the kids and everyone loved it!!! Don't worry about the mixture foaming. It works even if you don't see much foam. Definitely a fun thing to do on a Saturday night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
These are great! My recipe is almost exactly the same. I have made these for years-they are so addicting!! In Maine we call them "Doughboys".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Elephant Ears

Watch how to make Elephant Ears, a fair food favorite.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States