Elephant Ears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Almost as good as the fair ones! I used hiney and powered sugar to top instead. Taste so much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I recently had a hankerin' for some fair food, I grew up in a small town that had the state fair every summer with all the delicious food vendors of all sorts...so I made this recipe exact only I cut it in half. I didn't have a rolling pin so it was tough trying to get the dough thin enough because it tends to thicken up a lot in the oil if you don't spread it out enough. Well, I was still very pleased, and the picky boyfriend loved it too. Obviously, this will be a rare delicacy but at least I can tell people I know how to make elephant ears! P.S. DO brush the elephant ear with melted butter as soon as possible after patting off the excess grease...THAT'S where a lot of the flavor was, besides the sugar and cinnamon:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missvega88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Super good!! But does anyone know a recipe for the maple frosting they usually have to drizzle on top of these? They usually have vanilla and maple, here in MN anyways... :) Thanks to anyone with any input on that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by megs
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Watch closely. They brown quickly.. very very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I ended up heating the milk, sugar and salt in the microwave until it was warm, then adding melted butter instead of shortening. I also found that I prefer them rolled a little thicker, but they turned out perfect. My family thought they were better than the fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Mogstad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
never had any that fat before... always had thin one's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orient, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ranger, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
My wife tried making fried dough the other night wasnt this recipe and hers end up in the trash so i used this quick and easy recipe and walla best fried dough thanks ps just texed her at bingo told her were enjoying fried dough lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
OMG! Were these good!! No more waiting for fairs or carnivals to pop up to have these favourites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLoo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
The first time i made these we scaled the recipe back to only make three....big mistake.Why one may ask? WE ALL WANTED MORE!!! Just like any fair or carnival if not better. Why anyone would ever spend 5 or 6 dollars again for just one, I don't know. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I almost gave up because I took momtomany's advise on my 1st batch and added 3 TBS water to the dough- it make them doughnut like- mot like fair elephant ears at all. So then I tried one more time -while I still had the oil warm in the cast iron skillet. This time I cut the recipe down and made them EXACTLY like the recipe said and they were pretty darn close to what you can get at the fair. I spread a bit of butter on them before the cinnamon and sugar like they always did at the Indiana state fairs. I recommend following the recipe EXACTLY to get that bit of chewiness that fair elephant ears. I may try buttermilk though at a future date to see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Elephant Ears

Watch how to make Elephant Ears, a fair food favorite.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States