Elegant Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This is spot on as is. It is supposed to be thick. And it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I used this as an appetizer to a special multi-course meal. I had several people in attendance who are gluten intolerant so simply left out the flour. I also left out the ham since there were meat courses to follow and used almond milk + cream instead of the slivered almonds and half & half. I put in a little thyme, rosemary and tarragon and simmered the whole thing for a couple of hours. Everyone exclaimed over the delicious soup. It needed salt, but I think that was because I left out the ham which would have added some saltiness. Turned out perfect for our special meal though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Everyone like this - but I did make some of the changes otheres suggested (4 cups chix broth, 1/3 flour, and 1/4 cup cream sherry). I also sauted the onions with a couple of strips of bacon and garlic - really added an add'l level of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This soup was awesome, however I did make a few changes. I use coconut oil instead of butter and almond milk instead of half and half, omitted the almonds. I took the advise of others and use 1/3 of flour and added celery, and 4 c. of broth. Took to a party and did not have any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I used brown rice instead of wild rice. I also simmered the soup while constantly stirring for another 10 minutes to get the carrots done. The rice gives this soup a very satisfying texture and the almonds provide a bit of crunch. We WILL be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This soup was absolutely delicious!!! Can't get enough of it. My boyfriend and I had it with lemon herb lamb steaks and it was phenomenal! We are making it again tonight- =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is a no fail recipe that turns out every time. If you've never made it, try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was a good, hearty soup. Easy to make, although my family and I thought it was a bit on the bland side. I found that adding a good 1/4 to 1/2 cup of dry white wine to the pot about 5 minutes before serving enhanced the flavor wonderfully for us. The color of the soup, for me, was a bit too monochromatic. To that end, I cut the carrots into thin coins instead of shredding them. I cooked them with the wild rice to save time, effort and an extra pot to clean later. I also added fresh, chopped parsley for even more color. I'd like to add, from my own recent experience with this soup, to make sure the wild rice is fully, but not over-cooked. Following the original recipe, 45 minutes cooking time was not nearly enough to fully cook the rice here at my location. Not fully cooked wild rice makes for one very chewy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I tripled the recipe, and added a few changes that other reviewers recommended. I added 3 huge cloves of fresh minced garlic and 2 c sliced mushrooms to a whole minced onion and 1/2 c real butter when sauteing. I then made a butter/flour roux, slowly added that into the chicken broth, heated while stirring, then added the ham (about a cup more than needed, to use it all up), carrots, mushrooms/onions and rice. My four picky kids and two guests raved about it! Also, I sliced a fresh loaf of sourdough bread, spread with real butter - that really topped it off right!!! I definitely think the changes made the difference between a 3 star and a 5 star meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Very hearty and delicious! I added mushrooms, broccoli, and 3 cloves of garlic to the onions and carrots. I also used vegetable broth (6 cups) instead of chicken broth and no ham to make this vegetarian. 1 1/2 cups of wild rice to make up for the missing meat. Slivered almonds were amazing in this recipe, they go perfect with the nutty taste of the wild rice so I went a little heavier on those. After stirring in the whipping cream I served up the bowls and added a swirl of honey in the center of each bowl. A fun final touch. Served with beer bread and salad. Thanks for the recipe! My roommates devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States