Elegant Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Nothing to rock your world but made for a nice dinner on a cold snowy night. Not bad - Not great, if I make it again I may "tinker" with it a little to bring in a little more flavor. Thanks for the post...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I scaled the recipe in half and made as written, except I followed the advice of other reviewers and cut the flour quantity in half; very glad I did. It is a bit bland, so I did add a splash or two of sherry to it; added the almonds more toward the end for a bit of crunchy texture, and also added a couple of grinds of freshly-grated black pepper as I served it. This was a nice soup to try. Thank you, Debra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I didn't add as much flour as other reviewers suggested and added a little extra ham and carrots and skipped the almonds all together since I didn't have any on hand. This was fantastic!!!! I served it for 10 guests and everyone thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was thicker than soup; too much flour. But everyone raved about the great flavor. Next time I'll reduce the flour and increase the chicken stock. Also, I used broken rice for soups and stews and it wasn't as "showy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
very very good soup! I have used this recipe to make a vegetarian version too.. 5 cups vegetable broth instead of chicken and added diced shitake mushrooms with the onions to saute and omitted the ham. Fabulous soup either way and it has great presentation. Thanks! PS...I think 1/4 cup of flour is plenty! It is way too thick with 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Excellent soup! It reminds me of the soup from a certain upscale Minnesota grocery chain. It did need extra chicken broth to thin it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Very good! I made a few small changes and it turned out wonderful. I added 4 cups of broth instead of 3 to make it a bit less thick. I also added cooked chicken instead of the ham and it was a definite thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Excellent recipe. Tried it for my family and I'm going to serve it on Thanksgiving. I added some sauted mushrooms but fine without. Delcious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This soup was like something you would get in a good restaurant. I didn't know how it would be without any spices, but it had just the right flavor. Even my picky eater really liked it. The only thing I did different was I used 4 cups of broth and it was still pretty thick. I definately will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Steilacoom, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
My whole family loved this soup. I did add 1 more cup of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States