Elegant Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was a good, easy to make soup. I did think it was a little on the bland side and added red pepper flakes and some thyme (what I had on hand). I will make again, however will try garlic and additional seasoning as recommended by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
WOW ! This is delicious ! Even our older boys like it and they don't like to try new things. I used an extra cup of chicken broth and more ham. I will be making this again and again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is a great soup. Coming from Minnesota like I do, I've had all kinds of wild rice soup and this is one of the good ones. It does need a little bit of extra flavoring, add a couple cloves of garlic with the onion and that helps add some flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Credit River Township, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This soup was pretty good as written, but needed an additional 2 c of broth. It also needed a little extra somethin' so I added: * 2 cloves garlic (sauteed these with the onions) * 1/2 tsp. white pepper * 1/4 tsp ground thyme After these additions it was perfect! Very easy. I loved the flavor and texture that the wild rice added. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Loved this! Cheated and used prepared wild rice (2 cups - the Uncle Ben's pre-cooked kind that comes in a plastic pouch) to cut the prep time. I used a can of evaporated skim milk instead of half and half, and even though I cut the flour as some reviewers suggested, I still needed two (14oz) cans of chicken broth to get it to the right consistency. It was even better the next day, though I had to add a little bit of milk to thin it out again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I just had this soup for dinner and it was excellent! I did use a box of long grain and wild rice and followed the box directions for that. So that was 2 cups of rice, I didn't have any ham so the extra rice made up for the missing ham. The only other changes I made were that I used only 4 tablespoons butter and 2% milk instead of half & half. It turned out great! It really was very delicious and elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This recipe always gets compliments. I use the turkey ham and fat free evaporated milk instead of the half and half. I also throw in other veggies (broccoli, corn) that I might have on hand. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
EXCELLENT soup for a cold day! We love this so much that we make a big batch and freeze the leftovers for another meal! Great with some rolls or bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKTebbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Used phesant instead of ham and added portabella mushrooms. Good stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molson13

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cloquet, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I added mushrooms sauteed in a little butter (and left out the whole amount), used less flour and more broth, and left out the ham...what a great vegetarian soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States