Elegant Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was a good, hearty soup. Easy to make, although my family and I thought it was a bit on the bland side. I found that adding a good 1/4 to 1/2 cup of dry white wine to the pot about 5 minutes before serving enhanced the flavor wonderfully for us. The color of the soup, for me, was a bit too monochromatic. To that end, I cut the carrots into thin coins instead of shredding them. I cooked them with the wild rice to save time, effort and an extra pot to clean later. I also added fresh, chopped parsley for even more color. I'd like to add, from my own recent experience with this soup, to make sure the wild rice is fully, but not over-cooked. Following the original recipe, 45 minutes cooking time was not nearly enough to fully cook the rice here at my location. Not fully cooked wild rice makes for one very chewy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I tripled the recipe, and added a few changes that other reviewers recommended. I added 3 huge cloves of fresh minced garlic and 2 c sliced mushrooms to a whole minced onion and 1/2 c real butter when sauteing. I then made a butter/flour roux, slowly added that into the chicken broth, heated while stirring, then added the ham (about a cup more than needed, to use it all up), carrots, mushrooms/onions and rice. My four picky kids and two guests raved about it! Also, I sliced a fresh loaf of sourdough bread, spread with real butter - that really topped it off right!!! I definitely think the changes made the difference between a 3 star and a 5 star meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Very hearty and delicious! I added mushrooms, broccoli, and 3 cloves of garlic to the onions and carrots. I also used vegetable broth (6 cups) instead of chicken broth and no ham to make this vegetarian. 1 1/2 cups of wild rice to make up for the missing meat. Slivered almonds were amazing in this recipe, they go perfect with the nutty taste of the wild rice so I went a little heavier on those. After stirring in the whipping cream I served up the bowls and added a swirl of honey in the center of each bowl. A fun final touch. Served with beer bread and salad. Thanks for the recipe! My roommates devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This is my first entry because I thought this recipe was amazing and so simple. I doubled the amount but used only 1/2 cup of flour and only 4 T of I cant believe its not butter since I am always cutting calories. Put all together in crock pot on low for 2-3 hours and added no fat half and half right before serving in bread bowls. My husband loved it and can't wait for the leftovers. One more thing, I added baby Bella sliced mushrooms with the onions, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Great wild rice soup recipe. The only things I did differently was adding the vegetables to the rice while it was cooking along with a bay leaf and some thyme. Thanks for sharing this great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Excellent recipe, the only thing missing is SHERRY!! Adds so much to the flavor. Added 1/2 cup sherry and an additional 1c chicken broth. Lovely soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I enjoyed this soup, but my husband did not. He felt like it was O.K., but nothing he would want me to go through any trouble to make again. I thought it had a southern, comforting taste, not to mention it's pretty healthy. Although, I wouldn't call it 'elegant'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolynReese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Delicious. I used broth to cook my rice and used the left overs to thin the soup out a bit. I also used 1/2C heavy cream and 1/2 C 2% milk. Next time I will add some fresh chopped mushrooms. Everyone loved this and my husband was happy to hear how easy it is to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
My whole family liked this. I didn't add the ham to make it vegetarian and it was delicious. i also used a whole can of fat-free evaporated milk instead of the cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Doubled the recipe and added a bit of celery with the onion. Also did 4 cups of broth vs. 3 and this was a great wild rice soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States