Elegant Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Very good soup! I tweeted it according to what we like but overall it's a good recipe. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Excellent soup. Hubby enjoyed it too. This is a flavorful soup with a short ingredient list. I believe it is a recipe that adapts well to variations. I didn't have the wild rice as called for and subbed a combo of black and brown rice which worked well. I also increased the onion to 1/2 of a large onion. This is any easy soup to make and the flavor is great. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Love this soup. Used Rice-r-Roni wild rice w/season packet. Reduced flour to 1/4 cup, added more onions and added sauteed mushrooms. Used skim milk instead of 1/2 and 1/2 to reduce calories. Didn't add almonds. It was very good and hearty soup. My husband even liked it and he doesn't like soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This is spot on as is. It is supposed to be thick. And it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I used this as an appetizer to a special multi-course meal. I had several people in attendance who are gluten intolerant so simply left out the flour. I also left out the ham since there were meat courses to follow and used almond milk + cream instead of the slivered almonds and half & half. I put in a little thyme, rosemary and tarragon and simmered the whole thing for a couple of hours. Everyone exclaimed over the delicious soup. It needed salt, but I think that was because I left out the ham which would have added some saltiness. Turned out perfect for our special meal though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Everyone like this - but I did make some of the changes otheres suggested (4 cups chix broth, 1/3 flour, and 1/4 cup cream sherry). I also sauted the onions with a couple of strips of bacon and garlic - really added an add'l level of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This soup was awesome, however I did make a few changes. I use coconut oil instead of butter and almond milk instead of half and half, omitted the almonds. I took the advise of others and use 1/3 of flour and added celery, and 4 c. of broth. Took to a party and did not have any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I used brown rice instead of wild rice. I also simmered the soup while constantly stirring for another 10 minutes to get the carrots done. The rice gives this soup a very satisfying texture and the almonds provide a bit of crunch. We WILL be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This soup was absolutely delicious!!! Can't get enough of it. My boyfriend and I had it with lemon herb lamb steaks and it was phenomenal! We are making it again tonight- =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This is a no fail recipe that turns out every time. If you've never made it, try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States