Elegant Turkey Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
My brother, who hates stuffing in general, asks for more every year! This year I even made it in the crock pot! **Also, I use orange juice instead of liqueur. That may allay some of the complaints on the strong taste of alcohol and orange. Excellent results (and cheaper).**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNERIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
I found this stuffing recipe probably about 10 years ago at least and have been making it every thanksgiving ever since! Everyone raves about it! Sometimes I use the spicy sausage and sometimes I use sweet italian sausage. It's great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This recipe has been a staple for our Thanksgiving meal every year since before I was born. I now make it for my family. My mother never used any alcohol or orange and it is wonderful. I boil the raisins in amaretto but I drain out any extra liquid so that the flavor is not overwhelming. I also bake seperate from the turkey. I fill a 9x13 pan, cover with foil and bake it at 350 degrees for 20 to 30 mins. Sometimes I stir half way through but not always. Covering is the key to keeping it moist. Turkey day would not be the same without this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittykat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Recipe is great and flavors wonderful. Not much trouble to make, but I would have preferred it if the directions dealt with baking the stuffing too, for those that don't want to stuff a bird with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I have never been big on stuffing, until now, I'm not to sure who submitted this recipe, but cudos to whoever did, I made a delicious turkey for easter this year and came across this recipe for the stuffing, I read alot of the reviews, and took the advice of 10 of the posters and used orange juice as well, and I was hesitant about using hot sausage, but the way the sausage complimented all the other ingredients was outstanding, everyone was complimenting and a couple people even asked for the recipe, and as the days passed, the leftover stuffing tasted better and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
The stuffing would have been much better without the orange liquer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
Cooking my first Thanksgiving dinner, I chose this recipe based on its ingredients -- and the great reviews it rec'd. I wasn't disappointed! This is the best stuffing I've ever eaten; everyone raved about it. Used Triple Sec orange liquer (first time using liquer in anything); had to substitute walnuts for the pecans cos I forgot to buy them but they were just as tasty. Only thing missing from the recipe is instructions on how long to cook if you're not putting it inside the bird (it says 15mins cook time at the top of the recipe, but the bird is in the oven for hours... us newbies need a little more clarity!). Otherwise, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN-Buckeye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
If I could give this more than 5 stars, I would! I've been using this recipe for a couple of years now, starting with my very first "Grown up" Thanksgiving that I hosted for friends while living a few provinces away from any family. LOVED it. It was a huge hit, and I continue to make it for every holiday. Even my mother in law, who is intensely picky, loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Dufour

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Harbour, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I have made this for the past 2 years. The entire family loved it. Leave in the orange liquor. The good Italian sausage makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
this recipe was a TOTAL success! The orange liqueur flavoring really made it special. Some reviewers recommended reducing the amount of liqueur--I followed it to the letter and would encourage everybody else to do the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States