Elegant Stroganoff Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I absolutely love this recipe! I do make it a bit easier though by using golden mushroom soup and cream cheese for the sauce but other than that I make the meatballs as recipe calls for. Sometimes the sirloin steak in other stroganoff recipes is not as tender [even with marinating] as I like so the meatball recipe is perfect for fixing that problem. Thank you so much for this recipe...family absolutely loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This recipe was easy quick and delish! My family of 5 all loved it and requested it again. I used low sodium broth as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I used Butterball Turkey Meatballs for this, and it was absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Perfect, well the sauce is perfect for us (I used frozen meatballs). This is just what I am looking for in a sauce. I'll try the meatballs when life isn't so hectic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Maybe I did something wrong, but I thought there was way too much sour cream in this sauce. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I consider myself a very excellent cook and baker. It is one of my hobbies. BUT this was a complete disaster. My husband told me to throw away the recipe AND the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cathy Myers
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I halved the recipe and added 3 cloves of minced garlic. I also omitted the seasoning salt in the meatballs as recommended by many other reviews. I also used 6 oz of fresh sliced mushroom. While this recipe has the taste of a typical hamburger stroganoff, I found it didn't own the depth of flavors that my favorite stroganoff by Ken in CA created. That being said, it proves to be "kid friendly". I also didn't care for the onions and mushrooms texture since they weren't sauteed first. The onions were still a bit crunchy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
For the meatballs, I used day-old whole wheat bread and omitted the Maggi seasoning (only because I didn't have it). For the "gravy", I didn't have bouillion granules so I used Campbell's beef broth and I added a mess of fresh garlic as well as fresh baby bella mushrooms instead of canned and I sauteed them with the onions with a little butter before I added the gravy ingredients. The meatballs turned out tender and juicy, which we all agreed was very nice. I'm glad I omitted the Maggi seasoning because I think if I hadn't, this dish would have been way too salty. I think the addition of the full cup of cornstarch was overkill. Next time I make this, I'll cut it back to a tablespoon or so. The gravy was way too thick. Using condensed cream of mushroom soup is a great thickener, all that cornstarch is unnecessary. My husband and I also thought there was a little too much sour cream. I think cut it in half and it would be just right. I think using fresh ingredients and canned beef broth was a great step for this dish. Like I said, if I hadn't had to make a last minute substitution, it would have been WAY too salty. I'll make this again, with my changes. NOTE: I stand by my review only because I think had I not made the changes I did, it would not have been edible. You can sub low-sodium products when necessary but this recipe is full of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Good but a little salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States