Elegant Pork Loin Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I'm only writing for one reason, as this dish was amazing. I'm a personal chef and enjoy coming here for new ideas. On just about every pork roast recipe i've seen, instructions have said to cook until 160 degrees, give or take. this is a mistake..it's called carryover cooking. any piece of meat that large is going to continue to cook for 30 to 40 minutes, and continue cooking about 10 to 15 degrees. thanksgiving turkey ever seem dry?? pork does NOT need to be fully cooked, 155 at the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I cooked this in the crock pot. Added all ingredients (including fruit, wine, clove, brown sugar used in the sauce) and cooked for 8 hours on low. Thickened the sauce with cornstarch and water and served with garlic mash potatoes. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Wow!! This truly is a great way to make a loin roast. I used a crock pot to cook mine, it came out great! I did find it very sweet, so next time I won't put any brown sugar in it I find the apple juice will make it sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This recipe was a total success in my party, It came out wonderful, rich and aromatic, the taste was "elegant" indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
As we don't have alcohol in our home, I used straight apple juice- and it turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
My boyfriend made this for me and followed a few suggestions, used apple juice due to the lack of drippings and added marjarom. It was very tasty, but I would use less fruit next time. I didn't want a prune or apricot with every bite of pork I had, and there were plenty still left in the pan when we finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
My first go at cooking a pork loin and I don't think it could have come out any better. Mine was only 2lbs so I cut the time in half. It came out nice and juicy. The sauce came out really yummy, but my loin didn't produce much, if any, drippings so it was mostly a wine sauce with some apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
i wish i could give this 10 stars.. it was sooo good.. i ended having to change the fruit to pineapples and craisins as that is all i had but it still was every bit delicious! i'm thinking about making this again tonight because the whole loin got gobbled down last night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Great and easy recipe. I used a 2.5lb roast, and I added a little marjoram and thyme to the mustard, and some ginger and allspice to the simmering fruit. There weren't many drippings at first, so I used a little apple juice in the sauce, which worked fine. The roast came out beautifully - moist and very flavorful, and the fruit is great with it. Wife loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I absolutely loved this recipe! Very easy to prepare and a big hit with the family. Only modification I made was to add 1/4 teaspoon each of finely ground rosemary and thyme to the mustard/sugar spread on the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States