Elegant Pork Loin Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was very good. A very sweet roast that if you have some nice roasted potatoes to off set the sweet in the meal it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Molalla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chad n Anna
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Very yummy! It was tender, and not dried out! The flavor of the sauce and the prunes really were fantastic. This would be a great holiday dish. Everyone loved it and are still talking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mulvane, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
From now own my new Thanksgiving centerpiece. It made an absolutely beautiful presentation for my Thanksgiving dinner--I don't think I've ever seen a turkey look that good. Everyone raved about the taste and tenderness of the pork, and we loved the gravy it made too. I didn't think it rendered quite enough gravy for the crowd I had, so I added some apple juice, more red wine, and even a dollop of creme fraiche to try to bulk it up. It was devoured. I had plenty of pan juices when it was time to simmer the fruit, but that's probably because I had covered the pork in foil (per my butcher's suggestion) for part of the cooking time. I have a fan-assisted oven, so the tempurature and the cooking time were decreased accordingly. I want to make this again soon just so I can take a picture of it! Very impressive, thanks for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
What's not to love?!!! It's just so wonderful and....different. Pork is hard to dress up, but this recipe does it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn in CT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Wow! I served this at a dinner party of really good cooks and everyone loved it. I chopped the prunes and apricots by mistake, but it ended up nice. I kept some aside for a chutney like finish and had some with more liquid for gravy. Will most certainly make again. A 4 pound bone-in roast fed 8 people with leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I'm only writing for one reason, as this dish was amazing. I'm a personal chef and enjoy coming here for new ideas. On just about every pork roast recipe i've seen, instructions have said to cook until 160 degrees, give or take. this is a mistake..it's called carryover cooking. any piece of meat that large is going to continue to cook for 30 to 40 minutes, and continue cooking about 10 to 15 degrees. thanksgiving turkey ever seem dry?? pork does NOT need to be fully cooked, 155 at the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I made this in a crockpot cooking on low for 8 hours. I added all of the ingredients from the start, which worked fine. I think next time I will still wait to add the fruit mix until the last hour because the fruit dissolved and made a more pruney gravy. Either way, it was delicious and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Yum! Very tasty, tender, and not dried out! I love the flavor of the sauce and the prunes really add a wonderful touch. This will be a great holiday dish for company. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyMummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Used the slow cooker and grape juice instead of wine. It was really sweet and yummy (cut out brown sugar). I just mixed all the ingredients in the slow cooker on high for 3.5 hrs for a smaller roast and it tasted really good. I would cut back on the fruit next time for a small cut of meat it was way more than I needed (just to save money ya know). Ate it w/bakers and everyone even the 1 1/2 yr old liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Loved it! I cooked in the crockpot on Low for 8 hours with carrots, potatoes, and onions. It's now an all-time family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States