Elegant Pork Loin Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This was just OK. Not good enough to make again only because i wasn't a huge fan of the sauce. It was a lil to sweet for me and that might have something to do with having to use apple juice to make up for the lack of pan dripping.(my loin was very lean) The fruit was also on the mushy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Excellent. I keep kosher so I used a brisket. I rubbed it with the Dijon mustard, brown sugar and thyme and put in the crock pot. Then I boiled the apricots, prunes, wine, apple juice, cloves, ginger and allspice and boiled it for fifteen minutes until thickened. I poured the sauce over the meat and cooked it on high for an hour and on low for eight. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was sooooo good and moist.Even picky DH gives it a 5.Idid sub craisins for the prunes,2 tablespoons red wine vinigar for the wine and and 2 tablespoons brown sugar blend,increaswed the unsweetened apple juice to 21/4 cups. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This recipe produced a tender, flavorful roast. However, there were no pan juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Very delicious: great taste, nice and fall-y-apart-y tasty meat. Even the fruit is nom. Made it last year for Christmas dinner and was received well. Making it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
loved the combo of ingredients...cooking time is off . I think next time I will marinate the meat or maybe do the crock pot route . Flavor was wonderful .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Andersen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
We loved this-the fruit sauce was awesome with the pork and with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I'm a novice cook at best and this was a fabulous roast and very easy to make!! I tweaked it ever so slightly. I had a 2 3/4 lb roast. I browned the roast on ALL sides first in a enamel covered cast iron dutch oven. Once it was browned, I removed the roast and deglazed the pan with about 1/2 cup of apple juice. I covered the pot and placed it in the oven on 275 degrees for 1 1/2 hours, basting every half hour. Also, I only used about half the amount of fruit. My four year old who only eats chicken fingers loved this roast. She even asked for seconds!! My husband, who is also a picky eater, asks me to make this roast. For him to ask for something speaks volumes about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was good, but not great. I made it in the crockpot, which I probably wouldn't do again. The crockpot made the prunes and apricots mushy, and the pork, while moist, shredded easily and thus I ended up with kind of a shredded pork in a mushy sauce. I served it over rice with some vegetables, and while it was decent, I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was a good recipe. The cook time was way too much the first time I tried it...3 hours made it very dry! The second time I cooked it, I did it for two hours and it ws still almost too much. I would try an hour and a half for a 4 pound roast next time. Definitely use a thermometer! Decreasing the time unfortunately cuts down on the basting opportunities which affects the sauce. There was also way to much dried fruit. I'm sure with some tweaking this could be an excellent recipe. But it really needs tweaking....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States