Elegant Penne with Asparagus and Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
My husband and I loved this meal. The only two things I would change: I will make more pasta than the one cup it calls for, but we eat a lot of food; if you're making this for guests I would cut the red pepper flakes in half simply because there are a lot of people who cannot handle anything hot. I'm typically one of those people but this one was just fine for me. In short, more pasta, fewer red pepper flakes, and we loved it so I will most certainly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I used chicken broth instead of white wine and thought this was delicious. It's very fresh and light tasting... Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misti Lane Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Will be making again! Easy to do and very good. Added a bit more red pepper flakes to taste. I grated fresh Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sangs
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I omitted the shrimp for the kids but was still delicious!!! May omit the red pepper flakes next time because the kids thought it was a little spicy. Did add extra bread crumbs and Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Delicious! The changes we made were that we marinated the shrimp in Allegro Hot and Spicy Marinade, then grilled the shrimp. We added 1 can of Hunts diced tomatoes with Basil, Garlic and Oregano. Instead of the penne, we used Organic Black Bean Spaghetti noodles which have 25G of protein and only 5 grams of carbs and taste wonderful! I never use the whole grain pastas because I think they taste terrible. This was one of my all time favorite pasta dishes and will certainly eat this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Wonderful! I make this often and just can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This was a big hit with my husband who said it looked and tasted like a dish served at a nice restaurant..can't ask for more than that! As suggested by another reviewer, I added chopped red pepper, sliced mushrooms and can of partially drained diced tomatoes. Made it that much better and looked beautiful. Parmesan cheese on top and a glass of wine...wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Very flavorful and delicious! Good contrast between the hot pepper and lemon flavors. Based on previous reviews, I added more wine to the sauce mixture to make more. The only thing I would do differently next time is to add more asparagus --- the asparagus I used was very small and, since we love it,there was not enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
made this tonight but I added red, yellow, orange peppers and some mushrooms, and I do not like wine so I omitted the wine. very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deux-Montagnes, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
OMG !! I made this recipe and I doubled it. So instead of one cup of pasta, I made two etc. But at the very end I added one container of cooking with philly savory garlic to this dish to give it a nice creamy saucy rue to it. It is Red Lobster worthy. It's for sure a keeper. !!! Awww SO SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States