Elegant Penne with Asparagus and Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I made this tonight. I think it would be a great hot weather meal. My only issue was that there was not enough sauce to cook the asparagus and for the noodles. I think next time I would partially cook the asparagus and then add. I ended up adding about a 1/4 C of butter for the sauce. It also needed a bit of salt and pepper, but the recipe stated to taste. I would do this again, but with some slight modifications. Actually I make a similar one that is from Barefoot Contessa and I think I wilol add the asparagus to that. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I just did not care for this at all. The sauce was bland & slightly watery (even after I let it simmer for longer than the recipe called for & also added a tad of cornstarch). If you are looking for something light, this might work but it was just so so in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Great!!!!!!!!Last night was my Boyfriends birthday, (he's a pescatarian)and a gourmet chef,so its always a challenge to please his palate, but i served this as a side dish, along with the Balsamic glazed Salmon,and he LOVED IT!!!!Will definitly make it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lareina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This was incredibly easy to make, and got rave reviews from my husband and niece! We are keeping it as our normal "Friday night" during lent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Great recipe! I did changed a few thing based on what I was looking for and what I had on hand. I added 1 habenaro pepper to the onions and garlic. I added one can of dice tomatoes. I did not have any cheese. I was really good. Very VERY spicy but I love habenaro -- it is the hot that keeps on giving. With the tomatoes and no cheese the sauce is a bit thin. Probably would make sure I had the cheese next time or put some cream in to thicken a little. On the other hand the way it was turned out very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is delicious. I did not have asparagus on hand. I used the small frozen okra and it was yummy and my husband loved it. On a later date, I tried it with asparagus, but my husband preferred the okra...all cooked the same but I watched to make sure the okra was cooking well before moving on in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Great recipe. I got compliments on this one and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This recipe was very good. I added mushrooms as well as the asparagus and my husband thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan LTaylor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
The wine and lemon juice made the very thin 'sauce' too acidic for us (If I made this again I wouldn't include the lemon juice). We added sauteed mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Excellent dish, the wine and fresh lemon juice came through just beautifully!!! A++++. I used chicken as my husband is allergic to shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States