Elegant Penne with Asparagus and Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was the recipe I was looking for! It was very tasty! I read the comments & think I have found ways to solve the problems addressed in them. Because of the mention of the excess liquid, I had a jar of Penzy's powdered lemon zest that I used in lieu of the juice. I bet fresh would be even better. I added 1/4 cup of a can of petite diced tomatoes & to counterbalance the acid, I put in 1 pinch (literally) of white sugar. It did not give any sweetness, just balanced the acid content. To also help with the liquid issue, I cooked the pasta (I used spaghetti) 2 minutes short of done, and then tossed it into the pan of sauce & cooked it for the remaining 2 minutes there. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by (ME)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I added a can of diced tomatoes, partially drained, sliced mushrooms and a red bell pepper cut in 1 inch pieces matching the asparagus. This is a definite repeater in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
My children were baffled at first that I would even dare give them something with a wine sauce, but even my picky eater likes this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was wonderful. I used some of the sauce to flavor a side salad. With some garlic toast, you could sop that right up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This recipe was simple and easy to make. The flavor of it was outstanding. I would definitely try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hpbburd95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This was super easy and super awesome! I was actually in the grocery store today looking in the freezer section at the Bertolli Shrimp Asparagus & Shrimp Penne skillet meal for 2. I thought it looked easy enough to make and it would be cheaper to make myself. I found this recipe & it totally fit the bill :) The only change I made was adding a can of undrained garlic, basil & oregano diced tomatoes (as I had read that some reviewers thought the sauce was a little thin). This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield Springs, New York, USA
Living In: Great Bend, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Incredibly easy and super-tasty! I added mushrooms with te asparagus and another dash of red pepper flakes at the very end before serving, which kicked it up a notch. Served with a nice green side salad, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This is a tasty and easy receipe, we really loved it. I think the next time I will add some capers, and maybe even articoke hearts. It saves and re-heats well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djc4304

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I made this recipe exactly from the directions and my family and I loved it. My husband liked it too and he usually doesne't like citrus with his fish or seafood. I will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
The GF and I enjoyed this... added diced tomatoes, extra garlic...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States