Elegant Oyster Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I've used this recipe a number of times, changing it up to fit what I have in the fridge. Although its great as written, we really liked substituting additional mushrooms in place of artichokes and oysters. Everyone I make this for loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Wow - fantastic! Only changes was doubling the celery, onions and carrots, and using half and half instead of cream. Oh and adding a cup of white wine as suggested by another review. That wine added a nice finish to the soup. I used frozen artichokes instead of canned and jarred oysters. Thanks for a great recipe -- will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I can't complain about this recipe. First time making it 2nd time trying it and I fell in love! I doubled the recipe and by accident I added 1 teaspoon of oregano instead of half and it still tasted amazing! I am making it a second time and I am adding potatoes in for something different. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GSRapunzel
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This one is husband approved! He grew up with milk and oyster stew, I don't like it. This has veggies and tastes great, we both enjoy this soup. We will be making this again. I made it exactly as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Absolutely fantastic without the artichokes and cayenne. Artichokes just don't fit and cayenne is a little off with oysters. I love oysters so much i used a whole lot more, all without the juice as I don't like the look of it. Couldn't get enough. A recipe keeper for sure to go in my Moms recipe book that has been passed down to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Simple recipe with surprising flavor. We liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Followed recipe as far as ingredients, however did add oysters. Husband was disappointed I wasn't frying oysters tonight, but once he tasted this soup. He said 'don't lose that recipe'. I did use some of the liquid from the oysters, but recipe doesn't really say. Thanks for a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I adjusted the recipe to make two servings. It was really outstanding. It will be on my menu again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This is amazing! It is actually very easy and fast too. I just left out the artichokes and added some garlic, garlic powder, and onion powder. Next time, I would like to add beer or white wine to add even more depth and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is the most incredible soup. You can also turn this into a seafood chowder by adding scallops, shrimp, crab, fresh fish and have also added fresh corn. It has been passed thru the family as a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States