Elegant Oyster Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I've used this recipe a number of times, changing it up to fit what I have in the fridge. Although its great as written, we really liked substituting additional mushrooms in place of artichokes and oysters. Everyone I make this for loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Wow - fantastic! Only changes was doubling the celery, onions and carrots, and using half and half instead of cream. Oh and adding a cup of white wine as suggested by another review. That wine added a nice finish to the soup. I used frozen artichokes instead of canned and jarred oysters. Thanks for a great recipe -- will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I can't complain about this recipe. First time making it 2nd time trying it and I fell in love! I doubled the recipe and by accident I added 1 teaspoon of oregano instead of half and it still tasted amazing! I am making it a second time and I am adding potatoes in for something different. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GSRapunzel
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This one is husband approved! He grew up with milk and oyster stew, I don't like it. This has veggies and tastes great, we both enjoy this soup. We will be making this again. I made it exactly as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Absolutely fantastic without the artichokes and cayenne. Artichokes just don't fit and cayenne is a little off with oysters. I love oysters so much i used a whole lot more, all without the juice as I don't like the look of it. Couldn't get enough. A recipe keeper for sure to go in my Moms recipe book that has been passed down to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Simple recipe with surprising flavor. We liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Followed recipe as far as ingredients, however did add oysters. Husband was disappointed I wasn't frying oysters tonight, but once he tasted this soup. He said 'don't lose that recipe'. I did use some of the liquid from the oysters, but recipe doesn't really say. Thanks for a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I adjusted the recipe to make two servings. It was really outstanding. It will be on my menu again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This is amazing! It is actually very easy and fast too. I just left out the artichokes and added some garlic, garlic powder, and onion powder. Next time, I would like to add beer or white wine to add even more depth and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is the most incredible soup. You can also turn this into a seafood chowder by adding scallops, shrimp, crab, fresh fish and have also added fresh corn. It has been passed thru the family as a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States