Elegant Orzo with Wilted Spinach and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Did not have feta cheese so I used blue cheese crumble.... still came out great! Definitely will make again! This is great as a meal if you are vegetarian or as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This is very good. The balsamic vinegar is key. I used can diced tomatoes. It makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I found this recipe while in a rush to find a side for my entree (salmon). I had most of the ingredients on hand but still left out quite a few things: the olive oil, crushed red pepper (I typically don't like spicy things), the pine nuts and the tomato. Even without these ingredients, this was a really stunning and simple recipe that is definitely going in the do-again box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Too much oil - cut oil by 1/3 to 1/2 amount in recipe. Dish is very bland without salt and balsamic vinegar. Increase all spices to compensate for bland flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Delicious! I over cooked the pine nuts but that was my own fault. And despite that I cook with spinach at least once a week, I always forget how much spinach cooks down once wilted/steamed/etc.... just a reminder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Love; will add more spinach next time because it really wilts down to a miniscule amt! Also added chicken at the end for my meat-loving husband :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is one of those no-fail recipes which holds up well to changes/substitutions. I sauteed a small onion and added more garlic. I don't care for cooked spinach, so I added raw spinach to the hot, cooked orzo and gave it a good stir to avoid clumping. Perfect! Sadly, no pine nuts on hand, so I added toasted walnuts instead. Next time, I'll add more tomato (sun-dried would be fabulous). Even though I enjoy balsamic, I didn't enjoy it in this dish, so I'll play around with other options in the future. I made this as a main dish for our weekly Meatless Monday dinner, however, it would make a wonderful side dish to chicken or fish. Simple, quick, and solid recipe which will definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I wasn't at all disappointed with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
No ingredient changes! Which is really saying something for me. I did use half the oil and half the orzo. The orzo was a little over-cooked at 8 minutes. But yum, and so QUICK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BBBEAN
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
So easy.. my daughter and I loved it.. but I was glad I heeded advice and cut the oil back.. Also.. I did not stop to think how much 1 lb of pasta would make.. so LOTS of leftovers.. Am going to try adding artichoke hearts and balsamic vinaigrette for a pasta salad,as suggested in another review.. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States