Elegant Orzo with Wilted Spinach and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
Elegant is right! Really easy to make and it tasted gourmet! I had tomato/basil feta which was excellent on top. I might toss in a few sundried tomatoes next time. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WebsByMegan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Can't recommend it enough. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissie Brooks
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Very good. I had no fresh spinach so I used frozen, thawed and drained. I also added cooked chicken to make this a main dish. For a side I served bruschetta. Awesome meal with a nice glass of white wine. There are only 2 of us and this recipe makes a lot. I've frozen the leftovers. Another yummy meal later in a snap. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Since pine nuts are so expensive here in Tokyo ($8 for 1cup) I was glad they didn't go to waste. The flavor was really good and tasted even better the next day when we took the leftover to a picnic. I do think the amount of oil called for is way too much. I only used 1/4c olive oil and 1tbsp butter and still found it a tad oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Very Good!! Excellent even the next day. Everyone asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Great recipe - this is very close to a favorite dish of mine that a local restaurant has stopped making. I reduced the amount of olive oil and added in sundried tomatoes, which gave a lot of flavor. Add them in at the same time as the pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Amazing, I crave it all the time - reminds me of Tuscany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
Excellent recipe. As others suggested, I cut the oil to a little less than 1/4 cup and added sundried tomatoes. Everyone raved about it and had seconds and thirds. I served it with roast chicken and asparagus. It was all very complimentary. Thanks so much for posting this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFORD1024

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
So delicious and beautiful to look at! I made this with Salmon Patties III for dinner with friends. It was a huge hit! I might use a bit more garlic next time. I know for the amount of food, we doubled the tomato and chopped a whole one instead of half of one as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: May 8, 2005
Very good. I tried this recipe to use up some extra pine nuts and I wasn't just pleasantly surprised, I was astonished how good it was. The cheese adds a delicious creaminess; the tomatoes provide a refreshing tang; the pine nuts give a wonderful fragrance; the orzo and wilted spinach in spices serve as a nice base. And it's quite pretty.One nice feature of the recipe is that the main ingredients are prepared separately so each person can mix them to his or her own preference. (I like more spinach (50% more) and much more tomatoes (100% more) and less cheese (33% less).) Some changes: I used half the olive oil and 2/3rds the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States