Elegant Orzo with Wilted Spinach and Pine Nuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This is a simple dish that looks "elegant" and tastes amazing! I didn't use the pine nuts as they were too expensive and the dish was still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
LOVED it! I decided on this recipe to go with grilled salmon and portobello mushrooms as I had spinach that needed using up. I cut the recipe in half and opted to only use 1-2 tablespoons at most of olive oil (leaving out the butter). I didn't feel the quantity or both ingredients were necessary (lots of extra calories to an already calorie rich dish!). As I was out of pine nuts, I decided not to sub another nut in their place. While adding slivered almonds would have been great, again, the calorie thing made me chose otherwise! The balsamic, feta and tomatoes add the perfect finishing touch to an amazing dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I have made this twice, and it is really good. I do find that the wilted spinach likes to clump together and is hard to separate when adding to the orzo. I might try cutting up the spinach before or after the cooking stage. Also, I feel the dish may need a little more crunch. The pine nuts add some, but I may try adding cucumber next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
What a great side dish, particularly if you are looking for something a little different. As another reviewer noted, without the balsamic vinegar (and I would add the feta cheese and tomatoes), all of which are added at the end, this would be a very bland dish (albeit quite attractive looking). But with the vinegar, cheese, and tomatoes, the side dish really takes off. The recipe is also much easier to prepare than one might assume when viewing the list of ingredients. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Very pretty! I also agree that this is somewhat bland--the balsamic vinegar makes it, so don't be hesitant with it. I added some wine to deglaze the pan since the herb and garlic mixture starting sticking, so I added a bit more flavor of my own. Bf wouldn't like this, so it's a good thing we still have leftover stuffed peppers and chicken with rice for him to have! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
only add add 1/2 cup pine nuts.. all i had on hand.. very good and looks good also..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Great flavors! I also cut the oil and butter in half, plus added sliced chicken breasts that I had seasoned with garlic salt and browned. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Based on many other reviews, I did not want to quite follow the recipe and end up with blah. Did, however, add the balsamic vinegar, some red wine, fresh pressed garlic to the butter and half the oil. I had no pine nuts so substituted sliced almonds. Wow!! First time and already it's on the request list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Great for dinner or a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Totally enjoyed this. Added sun-dried tomatoes instead of fresh because that is what I had on hand. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Pine Nuts and Romano

Spaghetti squash stands in deliciously for regular old pasta.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States