Elegant Lemon Pork Chop Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This is not a new recipe, but it is wayyy better with BBQ sauce. This is as common as a recipe for cornbread. Sort of a 'depression era' recipe. My great grandfather made this back in the 30's and our family has been enjoying this recipe for decades. BUT...He used BBQ sauce (not ketchup) AND you use APPLE CIDER VINEGAR, cook it low and slow...you don't have to cook the chops first. Do it all at once in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
excellent! How easy and tasty for a weeknight. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This reminds me of an old recipe I have made in the past. I incorporated some of the ideas from other reviewers: I made a rub of garlic powder, lemon pepper and salt; then, braised the chops in a little olive oil. Removed the chops and made the *gravy* as called for but added a little water and cornstartch. It was very good. Hubby loved it. I may try this with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Weber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenolden, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Haddon Heights, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
After reading some of the reviews, I elected to use my favorite bbq sauce and not ketchup and vinegar. It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
try adding a package of Homemade Gourmet® Apple Pecan Vinaigrette Mix instead of the ketchup and brown sugar...it's healthier and taste great! www.shophomemadegourmet.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Not sure what i did wrong, i didn't care for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
VERY GOOD OVER RICE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Yikes, I'm really not sure what is elegant about this dish, but it got some interesting reviews so thought I'd try it, more out of curiosity than anything. I don't like serving something with that much sugar (lots of sugar in ketchup) for my main meal. This was basically ketchup and pork...(what is 1 teaspoon of vinegar really going to do?). A lot of the reviews have modifications, so aren't really reviewing the actual recipe. Many other pork recipes out there that are far tastier and just as easy. Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I have used this recipe for years and called it Lil' Abner's Pork Chops. I use much less ketchup and no vinegar. Did not precook just throw in the oven with a little water in the bottom. Best to cook on foil for easy cleanup. Cook at 300 for about 1 1/2 hrs. or until fat on the edge of the chop is caramelized. Enjoyed the variation with onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I would suggest using a plain spaghetti sauce in lieu of ketchup or a lower calorie and less salty organic ketchup. Ordinary ketchup is overloaded with sugar and salt. Lemon Pork Chop in its many versions is a traditional home cooking favourite. It's fun to play around with the recipe and adjust it to personal taste. Thanks for reminding me of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Easy and Elegant Pork Tenderloin

This roast is simple to prepare, and impressive enough for the fanciest occasions

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States