Elegant Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This recipe was extremely easy to prepare. Unfortunately, the look and taste were highly unattractive. The sauce was a clotted mess and the grease from the bacon and chicken made it even worse. The chicken may have been moist, but the bacon looked undercooked. There was nothing at all elegant about this dish - just unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I got a similar receipe from my mother-in-law some 25 years ago. The only difference is that she used the dried beef (Armour in the jar) and also she cut strips of monterey jack cheese, and layer the beef & cheese inside the chicken and then wrapped in the bacon, and grated the remaining block of cheese and mixed with the cream of mushroom soup & sour cream. And yes, we always have the "gravy" over the rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Horrible. Not even close to being edible. Incredibly expensive per serving. And that's without the "chipped beef", whatever that is. The sauce was a clotted mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I tried this recipe and found it was really good. What I did was lay dried beef in bottom after rinsing, then put chicken breasts on top, then bacon slices. Baked one hour took off bacon ,drained the grease off then added my soup and sour cream. Baked an additional hour. Turned out great. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This smelled REALLY good while it was cooking. I didn't use the chipped beef at all (that seems weird) so I didn't find this too salty as other reviewers seem to have. It was very rich, though, so rich in fact that I couldn't even eat a whole piece, but it tasted very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I really liked this dish alot. I used chicken tenderloins and I also nuked the bacon for a bit beforehand like other reviewers suggested.I rinsed the dried beef and the saltiness was no problem. My family was not as enthused so I guess it is an individual taste thing. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
My husband and I did not like this recipe. The bacon was uncooked and soggy. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coot226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Made this recipe the other night and while the chicken was very moist the opinion of most was that the taste was only so-so. I would definately NOT call the presentation of this chicken "elegant". When it came out of the oven the sauce had an almost "clotted" appearance that was not appealing at all. Once we stirred the sauce a bit it got creamy but the initial appearance was very offputting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Great recipe. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I thought the dish was okay, not great. I did add an extra can of soup. I still thought there was too much sour cream taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Aussie Chicken

Saucy baked chicken with cheese and bacon.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Honey Mustard Mozzarella Chicken

Baked chicken is glazed with honey mustard and topped with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States