Elegant Chicken Athena Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This recipe is in the #1 slot of all recipes for my husband (and we have tried a lot of them). One thing is that we were unable to find pomegrantate syrup the first time we made it (until we realized to look in the liquor mixers). Because of this lack of finding the syrup the first time that we made it, we added the seeds from fresh pomegranates wih sugar and it was great. We now use pomegranate syrup with the fresh pomegranate seeds (in addition to the other ingredients). We also have never needed as many eggs as was listed. SInce pomegranates are now in seson we have been making this as our "company dish" and everybody is asking for the recipe. It is a shame that more people are not trying this recipe because it is truly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I made this with halibut rather than chicken and it was great! I couldn't find pomegranate syrup so I used boysenberry. I also added a little flour to the sauce to thicken it up. This was so easy and delicious - would be great for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This was amazing! The pomegranate stood out and blended smoothly with the chicken. It made a well rounded and fully bodied meal. I wouldn't change a thing. This will definitely be a regular in our household. Even my picky 3 year old boys were asking for seconds! Job well done, Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I thought this was excellent. The saltiness of the nuts offset the sweetness of the sauce and although I didn't have pomegranate syrup, I put some pom juice in a saucepan to reduce with a sprinkle of sugar and it worked great. Will definitely make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I didn't make the sauce for this recipe, but I guess I should have. The pistachio-crusted chicken on its own, though very moist and juicy, was a little bland. For those of you who don't want to make the sauce, I'd suggest mixing the ground/diced pistachio with garlic powder, finely grated parmigiano reggiano, pepper, and salt to taste. I frequently use this on tilapia and it tastes great! I'll be sure to try again with the sauce - it sounds great (I just had no pomegranate)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Overall, I would have given this 5 stars but whenever I have to tweak a recipe then it loses one star. I didn't really taste the pomegranate in the sauce. I think next time I will add more of the syrup. I found Pomegranate Glaze at Trader Joe's. If I need to have true syrup, I'd probably go to a Middle Easter market to find it. It was a bit strong on the wine but I loved it. I was hoping for a sweeter taste. I will definitely make this again and I will try it with pork chops like another reviewer recommended. The chicken breast was moist, but a bit dry. I served this over basmati rice and found it to be a wonderful dish. I may add just a dash of salt to the suauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This was pretty good. A little sweet for us but we wanted to try something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
I found this simple, affordable dish to be outstanding. I had to make my own pomegranate syrup by reducing 1/2 cup pom. juice and 1 tbsp. sugar. I have made the dish once with chicken and, most recently, using boneless pork chops. I found that the pork version was superior to the chicken. I also increased to amount of scallions to 3tbsp. and used 3 tbsp. of the hommade pom. syrup. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Cassell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castlewood, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
The nut crusted chicken was wonderful. The sauce was some work, and was a bit too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richlands, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Susan, this is a fabulous recipe! I just cooked it for my wife for Valentine's Day and it was perhaps the most well-received dish I've cooked to date. The only modifications I made: made it with one cup cream, and started the sauce as soon as I put the chicken in the oven to give it time to reduce to a creamier consistency. Also, couldn't find pomegranate syrup, but found some juice and made my own. It truly was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States