Elegant Brunch Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This is a wonderfully unique and flavorful recipe! I've made it several times. I have only needed little more than 1/2 cup olive oil to get to a consistency I like and still had a lot of mayo left over. Works well with wheat bread or just lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
Didn't bother with the homemade mayo; I also used canned chicken as a timesaver. I added dried tarragon and a lot more blue cheese. Just didn't get any of its flavor otherwise. Also added more grapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
Do bother with the homemade mayo unlike the other person suggested. It's great!! Made this for a baby shower and printed out extra recipes because I knew I would need them to give away. Sure enough - I gave all of them out. Wonder flavors but you do have to like blue cheese. Recipe is good as is - no need to deviate. I have made this several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
I made this recipe following it exactly. The mayonnaise just tasted awful so I used regular mayonnaise (with a little sugar) and it all turned out great. Really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I have made this several times and have always receivedh huge compliments. The homemade mayo is a great touch that makes this recipe much better than others!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I agree that the mayo wasn't very good. It was thin and didn't have much taste (besides being oily). The rest of the ingredients were great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theresa a.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Very easy recipe and tasty too, except I would not make the homemade mayo due to raw eggs and salmonella so I used a name brand mayo which worked just as well. I gave it four stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Absolutely wonderful but made adaptations! Nice texture and contrast of flavors makes this a fun salad. I especially loved serving it as a stuffed tomato recipe. I used Vegenaise http://www.followyourheart.com/vegenaise.html and a fat free blue cheese yet the texture was rich and creamy. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLESOUL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This was so good! You should definitely make the mayo, it makes the salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Yep, the homemade mayonnaise makes this. It took forever to make, but it came out delicious...however, DO NOT use just extra-virgin olive oil! I started out using extra-virgin because it was all I could find, and tasted it and it was WAY too strong. I ended up making up the difference with some canola oil I found, and that helped a lot. Also used some Danish blue cheese (my favorite!) and toasted the pecans before adding them. Forgot to buy grapes at the store, so I had to go without...maybe next time! My husband and I both tried a little bit with some crackers and it's delicious - looking forward to having it for lunch tomorrow at work on honey-oat bread. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States