Elegant Brunch Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I did not use the mayonnaise recipe, I used sour cream. I like this as a base recipe, but it had too much chicken and cheese. It needed more vegetables. I added 2 stalks of celery but should have used more. I also only used 3/4 c blue cheese and it still had a pretty strong cheese flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was delicious! ALthough, I did alter it a tad. I used 2lbs of chic breasts, 1/2c lite mayo, 1/2c plain greek yogurt, 1/2 t dry mustard, the white wine vinegar, grapes and 1/2c blue cheese and added chopped red onions since I left out the pecans. My husband doesn't like nuts. I got TONS of compliments and many requests for the recipe. We'll be making this one again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalex0616

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I make this with Helmans mayonaise and can't keep it in the house! My family loves it. I'm looking forward to making it with leftover turkey after Thanksgiving to see how it compares with the chicken. Its fast and easy to make and the flavors blend so well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Very good chicken salad. I made this for a gathering with girl friends. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I add craisins to this recipe which reminds me a bit of thanksgiving -- chicken and cranberry. I have made at least 25 lbs. of this stuff since I discovered it a few months ago! The family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Natali

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I have been making this recipe for years and always am asked for the recipe. I don't make my own mayo (eggs and oil) I just use premade mayo. It is a crowd pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Good but the mayo was off. I wouldn't recommend using olive oil at all - just use decent quality vegetable oil. I had to use a full cup and even a bit more as it just wasn't thickening up - or maybe I just don't know how to make mayo properly - who knows! But even with the very small amt of olive oil I used - it permeated the whole batch. To cover that up I added some curry powder and sugar. It was alright! I used 2 cups of grapes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ackley, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Yep, the homemade mayonnaise makes this. It took forever to make, but it came out delicious...however, DO NOT use just extra-virgin olive oil! I started out using extra-virgin because it was all I could find, and tasted it and it was WAY too strong. I ended up making up the difference with some canola oil I found, and that helped a lot. Also used some Danish blue cheese (my favorite!) and toasted the pecans before adding them. Forgot to buy grapes at the store, so I had to go without...maybe next time! My husband and I both tried a little bit with some crackers and it's delicious - looking forward to having it for lunch tomorrow at work on honey-oat bread. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This was so good! You should definitely make the mayo, it makes the salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Absolutely wonderful but made adaptations! Nice texture and contrast of flavors makes this a fun salad. I especially loved serving it as a stuffed tomato recipe. I used Vegenaise http://www.followyourheart.com/vegenaise.html and a fat free blue cheese yet the texture was rich and creamy. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLESOUL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States