Elderberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This was deeelicious...and I don't even like elderberry pie! I added about 1T extra of cornstarch and made a lattice crust. This pie had a perfect consistency, and my family just couldn't stay out of it. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
This was the first time I thickened the berries before baking. What a difference. This is what elderberry pie should look like AND taste like!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
This is a very easy pie to make. Not so sweet that you get sick. Just a wonderful taste. I've made 5 pies already this year. I loved it!!!Once your prepare the berries, and put them in the sauce pan with the sugar and cornstarch, you will be able to see how thick your pie will be. I'm preparing more berries and freezing them for winter pie making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOY
Home Town: Ontario, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
This was the first elderberry pie I've ever made and it turned out beautiful and delicious. Some said it was the best pie they had ever had. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This was my first Elderberry Pie!It was excellent! Thickening the filling 1st is a wonderful idea.I'm of to pick more berries before the Robins come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This was the first elderberry pie I ever baked. The pies I baked were for an elderly man who is ill. He loved them. I found out that I don't care for elderberries, but this recipe was the best. I didn't have any fresh elderberries available, so I bought some dried ones and soaked them until plump. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is a lovely simple recipe that makes a great pie. Don't forget the butter! XOXO Joce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn BD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was my first elderberry pie - we picked the berries from bushes we had planted in our backyard a few years ago. I love that this recipe has you thicken the filling before putting it in the crust because I don't like runny fruit pies. This method lets you control the thickness better. I used a full top instead of a lattice, and my son agrees that the pie tastes better on Day #2. Elderberry certainly has a unique flavor - it wasn't quite as "crunchy" (from the seeds, I imagine, because we picked these over twice to remove as many stems as possible before washing) on Day #2. I'm going to try some jam and syrup, too. We picked about 15 lbs. of berries and the bushes look like we barely touched them! Note to anyone from Western NY or Southern Ontario: we bought the bushes as bare root plants from the Erie County Conservation Tree and Shrub Seedling Program that the county runs every Spring. We bought 6 bare roots - about 12" tall at the time - and after two years the plants were VERY bushy and about 10' tall. They cost next to nothing - it's a great program to check out as they offer LOTS of other trees and plants, too. These elderberry bushes attract birds, butterflies, bees, etc. - this is the first year I got to the berries before the birds! There are lots of berries to share, though!!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walker23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Oh My-Took forever to clean the tiny tiny berries. Cooked them and it looked fine. I don't know what goes on in the baking process but when I was done it was crunchy-not good. NOT a do-over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I made this pie using what I was told was Elderberries, but, were actually Mulberries. I didn't know what I had. Anyway, I removed all the stems by cutting with scissors , put the berry mixture with a little extra cornstarch in the pan and brought it all to a boil until thickened. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. The pie wasn't overly sweet and I liked it very much. Even my husband who isn't much of a sweet eater liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States