Elbows and Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I also grew up calling this goulash. We threw the cooked elbows right in the suace and served with parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Nice basic pasta recipe. We added garlic powder to this too. When you don't want anything too fancy and a fast meal this is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I knew this was a hit when my husband asked what it was called. Very simple and quick on those days that you have to hurry out to activities
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casersmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Britton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Beatrice, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I grew up thinking this was Goulash!! Except we didn't have the green pepper, which is an excellent addition!! I forgot all about this untill I saw this recipe. Thanks for the reminder, and the green pepper idea. I will make it like this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHGINA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I browned my meat with the an onion, a green pepper, minced garlic, salt & pepper then after draining I added two 8 oz. cans of tomato sauce one can stewed tomatoes and a jar of my grandma's stewed tomatoes (because that all I had on hand) I then added a 16 oz box of rotini and brought it all to a boil, then simmered it until the pasta was tender. I added colby jack on top to melt and my family liked it alot. Next time I will use the 2 cans tomato sauce and 3 cans of stewed tomatoes. Hope this helps. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I liked this quite well, it was also good reheated. When I reheated it I added shredded cheese and it was better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I agree with other posters that this is not the best meal I have ever had, but it is a great pull-together-from-what-you-usually-have-on-hand dinner. It reminded me of Hamburger Helper, but much better tasting without all the preservatives and junk. It actually was better than I expected and my husband gobbled it down. Some modifications that I made: #1 Only used 1 lb of ground turkey, #2 Used two cans of 8 oz tomato sauce (correction from two 14.5 oz) and one 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes. #3 Did as other suggested and sauteed bell peppers, onion, and later garlic in a little bit of olive oil before adding the meat. #4 16 oz box of noodles is a bit much. I used probably about 2/3-3/4 of what I cooked and will do a mini mac and cheese with the rest. #5 Did this as a bake. Put everything in a 9x13 pan and baked until heated through and sauce was bubbling. Added a layer of cheese on top and put back in the oven for about 5 minutes until melted. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I made this for dinner tonight, my husband loves it I add a little something to it though I add a can of diced tomatoes with basil, oregano and garlic and I season my ground beef with a little bit of garlic powder , salt and pepper. I thought it will give it a little more taste. I am sure this will be a simple dish I will make often for us both. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kutin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Coram, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
very original, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda rosie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glenpool, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I thought this was terrific! The sauce made sooo much though... I split the sauce in half and froze it. When I was ready to serve it up I heated it up on the stove and poured over 16 ounces of large macaroni. My family really liked it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDSCULLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States