Elbows and Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I knew this was a hit when my husband asked what it was called. Very simple and quick on those days that you have to hurry out to activities
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casersmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Britton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Beatrice, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I grew up thinking this was Goulash!! Except we didn't have the green pepper, which is an excellent addition!! I forgot all about this untill I saw this recipe. Thanks for the reminder, and the green pepper idea. I will make it like this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHGINA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I browned my meat with the an onion, a green pepper, minced garlic, salt & pepper then after draining I added two 8 oz. cans of tomato sauce one can stewed tomatoes and a jar of my grandma's stewed tomatoes (because that all I had on hand) I then added a 16 oz box of rotini and brought it all to a boil, then simmered it until the pasta was tender. I added colby jack on top to melt and my family liked it alot. Next time I will use the 2 cans tomato sauce and 3 cans of stewed tomatoes. Hope this helps. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I liked this quite well, it was also good reheated. When I reheated it I added shredded cheese and it was better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I agree with other posters that this is not the best meal I have ever had, but it is a great pull-together-from-what-you-usually-have-on-hand dinner. It reminded me of Hamburger Helper, but much better tasting without all the preservatives and junk. It actually was better than I expected and my husband gobbled it down. Some modifications that I made: #1 Only used 1 lb of ground turkey, #2 Used two cans of 8 oz tomato sauce (correction from two 14.5 oz) and one 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes. #3 Did as other suggested and sauteed bell peppers, onion, and later garlic in a little bit of olive oil before adding the meat. #4 16 oz box of noodles is a bit much. I used probably about 2/3-3/4 of what I cooked and will do a mini mac and cheese with the rest. #5 Did this as a bake. Put everything in a 9x13 pan and baked until heated through and sauce was bubbling. Added a layer of cheese on top and put back in the oven for about 5 minutes until melted. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I made this for dinner tonight, my husband loves it I add a little something to it though I add a can of diced tomatoes with basil, oregano and garlic and I season my ground beef with a little bit of garlic powder , salt and pepper. I thought it will give it a little more taste. I am sure this will be a simple dish I will make often for us both. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kutin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Coram, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
very original, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda rosie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glenpool, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I thought this was terrific! The sauce made sooo much though... I split the sauce in half and froze it. When I was ready to serve it up I heated it up on the stove and poured over 16 ounces of large macaroni. My family really liked it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDSCULLY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I was looking for something that would use up the 1 1/2 lbs of ground beef I had left from another recipe I had just made. This looked simple enough and seemed to have good ratings, so I made it for supper. I just had two full bowls of it! I did add salt, pepper and garlic to the browning meat and I used a yellow pepper I had on hand. Instead of regular tomato sauce, I used 2 bottles Classic Roasted Tomato and Garlic sauce. (It really didn't need two full bottles but I didn't want to waste any!) This recipe yields way more than just 4 servings, I would say. I had those two soup-bowlsful and there seems to still be enough in the pan to fill several more bowls! This is a keeper for a fast easy comfort-food dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I used ground venison and gluten-free pasta...otherwise the same as the original recipe. The meal is delicious, simple, easy-to-make, comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Ground Beef

See how to beef up a meal with versatile ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States