Elbows and Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
My mother used to make this when grocery money was low - back in the 60s and 70s. She called it "poor man's supper." It's always been a favorite of mine anyway. Don't forget to add several slices of American cheese to melt in the sauce (it really makes all the difference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Lamb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Delicious! My house smelled incredible, and my family loved it. I've saved the recipe and will add it to our regular dishes! I didn't make any changes - just followed the recipe, and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Lassiter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesnee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I've been making this for years and years except I add either some fresh minced garlic or powdered garlic (whichever I have on hand)to my ground beef, bell peppers and onions while browning. I also add one to two cans of diced tomatoes including the juice instead of using tomato sauce after draining my ground beef then salt and pepper to taste. Add your noodles or macaroni last, stir and simmer until pasta is done. It's also good with a can of whole kernel corn added to it. This dish is good but we like my version a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I added a jar of my home canned tomatoes, 4 oz can diced green chiles, garlic and only used 24 oz tomato sauce. We like spicy so added some chopped jalapeños too. Yummy and since there's only two of us now, I think it will freeze real well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dee31525
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
My kids and husband loved this! I will definatly be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I gave the recipe 5 stars as it reminded me of something my Mother would make when I was growing up. DH gave it 4 stars because he would prefer a thicker sauce. He wants thicken it w/tomato paste. Maybe I'll try that to keep him happy but it really doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Char

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Made this for my family and it wasn't all to good. added more seasoning for taste . My kids just did not like this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This was surprisingly good considering the little bit of effort and time involved. I was looking to use up some ground beef that needed to be used and I had all the ingredients in the pantry. I used one can of sauce and a can of diced tomatoes along with onion, bell pepper, and garlic. Very tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Really easy and fast recipe, my family loved it. I added 3 fresh diced chile Serrano to the mix at the same time as the bell peppers to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Varela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Made this pretty close to recipe, added fresh garlic to the green pepper and onion mix and cooked that together with the beef. Three in a can of tomato sauce and a can of diced tomatoes, brought to a boil, then turned down to low. Added the macaroni and loaded shredded cheese on top---my picky eater went back for seconds and then thirds! A winner in my book for an easy mid-week meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States