Elbows and Ground Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jen Lumaban
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
My mom has been making this for as long as I can remember. In our house it's called, "beef adobo." It has no relation to chicken adobo in taste; we're part filipino, so the name works. Anyway, mom uses everything listed above with exception to the tomato paste/sauce (uses water instead) and green pepper. But then she also adds one egg towards the end of the cooking process (stirring into hot pot) and diced tomatoes. Salt & pepper to taste and voila, "beef adobo!" I've added a pic for your viewing pleasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
here's what i do different. i sautee the onions and garlic to taste in seasonings of choice. usually italian seasoning. a lil garlic powder. a lil salt. a lil pepper. a lil onion powder. it varies by mood and whose eating. i also prefer using a homemade meat gravy. num num num delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Loved this recipe. Subbed Johnsonville Sweet Italian Sausage for the ground beef and added cheese. Very, very good and quick. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I cooked the ground beef with minced garlic, minced onion, garlic powder, onion powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made this today and just redid some of the ingredients. I added sofrito (Latin seasonings) and mushrooms, crushed tomatoes with garlic and oregano, also a 1/2 tbs of minced garlic. Really a good recipe to do on last minute and really you can also freeze the meat sauce which I did, for later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This was a great idea! I changed it up a bit though! Instead of two cans of tomato sauce. I used one can of Rotel and a small can of tomato sauce. I seasoned my meat with seasoned salt. We also used whole wheat elbows! I topped mine with 4 cheese Mexican blend. It was so great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
It was kinda bland, even with me adding some extra ingredients. My family thought it was just like spaghetti and meat sauce...not thrilled with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EastCoastGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Great basic recipe. After reading all the reviews I used this recipe as a guideline. I added chopped celery and carrots. I used a red bell pepper. I used 1 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes and added water as needed to cook the noodles in the same pot (about 3/4 can). I also added chicken base. I seasoned everything as I added to the pot. I used salt, pepper, Italian herb mix, minced garlic and garlic powder, red pepper flakes. I only used 1lb ground beef and 8 oz pasta. I sautéed all the vegetables together then added the beef. Drained it all. Added the crushed tomatoes and pasta. Simmered until the pasta was cooked. Me and the hubby enjoyed it. Definitely easy and worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I added a ton of seasonings as this was a bit bland for my tastes. I also added in some shredded carrots to add a few veggies to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
The boys liked this meal. The girls, not so much. We did add fresh garlic. Next time, I would add less tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Ground Beef

See how to beef up a meal with versatile ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States