Elaine's Sweet and Tangy Loose Beef BBQ Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Gosh, I wanted to love this but it was a bit too sweet for us. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I have been married 50 years and have cooked a lot of meals. This is the hardest BBQ I have ever made. After the roast cooked for 4 hours it was near impossible to flake. I ended up grinding the meat. I'm thinking maybe 2 hours in the crock pot or maybe 6 hours in the crock pot. Whatever, the meat was tough. Now I have to decide how much longer to cook it. Not a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Elaine you must be a culinary scientist! This recipe is outstanding. I used a 3.5 pound roast so I cut the sauce in half and it was perfect. I Plan to try with pork and chicken in the future. Great for serving big groups. Served with Nana's Southern Coleslaw (recipe on site) Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Needs way more time in the slow cooker, and makes way too much sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Both my husband and I thought this recipe was very good. I did not use the crockpot. Browned roast, added onion, salt and pepper, then roasted in oven on 350 for two hours. Cut sauce ingredients in half and added to shredded beef. Simmered on low for approximately an hour. Yummo! Paired it with corn on the cob. Simple summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
just like pulled pork recipe we tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I think this is a good start on the flavor and an easy cooking method. I only gave 3 stars because I had to tweak my sauce with smoked paprika, more garlic, more vinegar and a dash of liquid smoke to give it a rounded flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I made this recipe over two days. The first day I cooked the roast (about a 3 pounder) in 1 cup of water. There is no way you could cook it in a slow cooker to fork tender state in two to four hours. The next day I shredded the meat, eliminated the excess fat, then added the other ingredients. I cut down those proportionately and instead of using all ketchup I also used Sweet Baby Rays. Everyone loved it. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Wow - now this is fabulous BBQ Beef! It's definitely sweet and tangy so prepare your tastebuds. I had my eye on this recipe for a while and made it for my Halloween party (just finally got around to reviewing it). Needless to say it was a BIG hit! I cut the recipe in half cutting back on the ketchup and used 1/2 cup ketchup with 1/2 cup of BBQ sauce. This is best prepared the night before due to the long cook time. Plus it's even better in the slow cooker the next day! I served this on mini kaiser rolls (sliders) along with kettle cooked chips and mini dill pickles - this may become a new Halloween tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This is a family favorite! Great for parties...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States