El Dorado Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Made it for my family and everyone loved it. My youngest, who is my pickiest, ate every last morsel on his plate. although i made my own alterations to it. i used salsa instead of tomato sauce . diced up real onions and a green pepper. I also added some minced garlic instead of garlic salt. Also next time i will not add cottage cheese i used instead of ricotta. Was not sure how it would turn out and think it would be better without it altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was really good, although I did change a couple of things. I used a can of diced tomatoes with chipotle chilies instead of tomato sauce & used cottage cheese instead of ricotta, just a personal preference for us. This could definitely be a dip. It wasn't the prettiest thing I've ever seen and certainly didn't look like the picture, but it tasted very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
My husband and I loved this. It is like a Mexican lasagna. I can't wait to try it in the crock pot for a potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
the kids will eat this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Very good and easy. I did enjoy this but felt it was more like a dip and I should be dunking my tortilla's and scooping rather than eating like a casserole. Changes I made were, I used ground chicken, only one can of green chilies and baked chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
My gramma used to make this all the time, though with slight changes! Her variation: 1.5 pounds of ground beef, use a whole chopped onion instead of the minced and cook with the beef, 1 teaspoon garlic powder (not salt), 3 cans of tomato sauce, and add a package of taco seasoning to the beef/olive mix. Then just put a layer of the crushed chips, the beef mixture, then mix 1.5 cups of cottage cheese with the green chilis and spread that over the top and sprinkle with cheese (leaving out the sour cream). I make this in two 8x8 pans and freeze one before baking. It works great. Just thaw and bake as directed. The chips won't be so crunchy, so I just sprinkle more on top when it comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sylvia
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I gave 4 stars because I have been making this casserole for years..but with a few changes that I think make it a 5 star. I never mix all the ingredients up together!..drizzle tomato paste around the meat, around the sourcream which is combined with cottage cheese. I use fresh diced onions, one finely chopped garlic, 1-2 Tbsp. gebhart's chili powder, 1 tsp. cumin power, and add it into the browning beef. Use one small can of tomatoe paste with added water to make into a thick sauce. Cottage cheese instead of ricotta and mixed shredded mexican cheeses, 1 small can sliced black olives. I drizzle the tomato sauce over the meat in the casserole, two layers only and add slices of jalepino and the shredded cheese to the top layer. I omitted the green chilis and if I do sometimes add them I add only one small drained can. This is one of my husbands favorite dishes. Arranging your ingredients in layers, the sourcream and cottage cheese should be dropped in little clumps is the best way to make this dish appealing and tasty. Useing unsalted chips is also nice and keeps the salt intake down..you can always add salt later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I thought your recipe was very good and I thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
meh--not that great. For it to be a good recipe you'd basically have to alter the whole thing. First, sub something else for the tomato sauce-then add some more spices to the meat, and that's just a start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I've made this casserole for years and years but we've always made it with cottage cheese instead of the ricotta cheese. Ricotta cheese tends to have a stronger flavor which a lot of people shy away from. Try it with cottage cheese! It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

El Paso Pizza

Pizza gets Chef John’s Tex-Mex treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States