Ekmek Turkish Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I made this recipe a few years ago, the same recipe was published on turkish site Binnur turkish cookbook that I visit often. Now I am glad to see this recipe here. The taste was very good, but I think actually there is not a big difference in taste between this bread and a traditional bread without starter. So, I used this recipe only one time because I make bread three times a week and it is complicated for me to wait four days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I've made this a couple times now, and have made it into 1 large loaf, and baked it in a cast iron covered pot that I preheated in the oven first, 1/2 hr covered and 15 min uncovered. Chewy crust and mild sourdough flavour - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Great bread, but it's kind of like an italian white bread. There is nothing flat about it! My starter was also soupy like another reviewer mentioned (both times I've made it) but that didn't seem to be a problem. However, I had to add quite a bit of flour while kneading because the dough stayed pretty sticky. But the texture is great and my family loved it. This time I'm trying it with half whole wheat flour and a little flax oil...I'll update on how it goes! (On the second rise now, all appears to be going well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I had my first Ekmek while stationed in Turkey in the Army many years ago. This recipe is excellent but the wood fired ovens the Turks use give a different character that is impossible to match. Enterprising young men in Turkey buy baskets of fresh loaves and sell it on extablished delivery routes. Tenants in upper story apartments have baskets on cords or ropes that they lower from their balconies with the money and the vendor will take the money and put the loaves in for the customer to haul back up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Very disappointed with the recipe. The taste and texture are nothing close to any Turkish breads I have ever eaten. And after living in Turkey for years and being married to a Turkish woman for even longer, she even questioned the Turkish in the title. One additional note, Ekmek is the name for all breads in Turkey, it would be nice to know what kind of bread this really is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Let me start off by saying that I am by No Means an experienced breadmaker-the extent of my knowledge comes from attempting to make a loaf of french bread about four years ago (unsuccessfully) So this recipe was a little bit of a gamble for me! and guess what? it is the most wonderful bread!!! my loaves came out of the oven about 20 minutes ago and I was in shock, my result was a wonderfully textured bread with a nice chewy, crispy crust and a wonderful fluffy center =) a few sidenotes, I substituted an unbleached all purpose flour in place of the bread flour and the result seems just fine, also the part of the recipe that says 'break starter into small pieces and drop into yeast mixture' definitely worried me because my starter wasn't breakable...it was more like flour and water soup, but the end result was still wonderful! I'm currently enjoying it with a little butter and honey on top and I don't think I'll be able to make myself pay $5 for a loaf of gourmet bread at the store ever again after knowing I can make something better by myself at home! THANK YOU SO MUCH for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
The bread is delicious. My husband loved it....just a shame one has to wait 4 days to enjoy it but it's worth the wait. It is not complicated at all; just have to remember to do each step each day and be able to plan ahead if you want this for a special dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This is a very good recipe! We served it with Pepper Havarti cheese and it was wonderful. We make it once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNA EVERHART

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
This was a nice bread to serve with soup.I served it with Harira(also very good)and it went well.Good crispy crust and soft inside.I only cooked it for a little over 20 min. and it was pretty well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
When a Lebanese friend suggested Middle Eastern food for our New Year's Eve party, I decided to try this bread. It is was very good, and not hard. Impressed everyone though when I mentioned how long I had been working on it! Definitely worth keeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States