Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
This is a very good gingerbread recipe. However, one must watch the men carefully when they are in the oven. My cookies got slightly overcooked and hardened very fast, so it was difficult to affix M&Ms and cinnamon drops as decorations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
These turned out really well, and my kids loved cutting them out and decorating them. (**Don't be discouraged by the amount of dough - it makes a LOT more cookies than it looks like it will.) After adding the ginger, I substituted an equal amount of Pumpkin Pie Spice (2 tsp.) for all the other individual spices, and it worked perfectly. I will be pretty generous with the spices next time, though - by the time my 14-year-old worked in enough flour to handled the dough, it was a little bit diluted. Still yummy, and we'll probably make them a few more times this holiday season. **Just remember to use a pastry brush to get all the excess flour off your cookies (top AND bottom) before placing them on the baking sheet - prettier and tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
this is a really good recipe, it doubles well. you can cook them soft or crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
I was looking for a classic, soft, delicious gingerbread cookie recipe, and I found it! This recipe makes such a nice, soft dough with the perfect blend of spices. I used Grandma's original molasses (not robust) and light brown sugar. I think you could get away with adding about 1/4 cup more flour to make it a little firmer. You may want to double the recipe for your holiday cookie baking. I don't remember liking gingerbread so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Wonderful Recipe...I found that you only needed to cook them for about 6.5 minutes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Tasty and very easy to make and work with. I used my stand mixer's pastry attachment and rolled the dough between wax paper. Came out beautifully, and my 2 year old enjoyed making and eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
These cookies turned out GREAT! The only thing I would suggest is cutting down the Ground Cloves by 1/2 a tsp, it was a little over powering. But the were Yummy, and I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Yummy! Just what I was looking for, a soft, spicy gingerbread cookie. I didn't have any cloves, so I just added more of the other spices. Excellent with icing and even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
These weren't bad, but I found them to be rather "flour-y" tasting and a little dry. I'll keep searching for the right recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This recipe is outstanding! I had such a craving for gingerbread and this just hit the spot. The cookies are perfectly spiced and came out soft and chewy. The dough was extremely easy to work with, even after sitting in the fridge overnight. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 918) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States