Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
my 6 year old loved these, my hubby said they needed to be iced more. But he doesn't really like gingerbread cookies. I iced them with homemade royal icing. I also tinted some of the dough red and put little hearts in the middle, since it is close to valentines day. The dough was very sticky and hard to work with even though I did refrigderate it and use whole wheat flour. Other wise this recipe is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made this recipe using Shortening rather than Margarine. -someone old me that margarine/butter doughs spread more, and shortening stays in shape better. Otherwise I followed recipe to a T. I would recommend rolling the dough out on the parchment paper that you'll be baking on, cut out the shapes, and remove the excess away. This way your cookies stay in shape and don't stick to the surface. Chilling scrap dough before re-rolling helps a lot. Rolling and baking on same parchment paper also helps when you move the cookies onto a cooling rack. Recipe also works for Gingerbread Houses. I rolled the dough out to about 3/8", dough made 1 house with a bit left over for trees, decorations, and a chimney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
very good recipe. Husband loves gingerbread. They were moist for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I wanted to try a gingerbread recipe this year and I chose this one after reading all the reviews till 2 in the morning!!! I selected changes I liked and went with it. My changes were to add 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup honey to replace the sugar and molasses. I cut back on the cloves and doubled the other ones. I put it in the refridge overnight and started rolling in the morning. I too found the dough very sticky and carefully added flour quickly so I could roll fast. I used parchment paper and baked them for 7-8 minutes. My daughter-in-law could not stop eating them and kept telling me they were the best!! They came out soft and so flavorful!!! Thank you so much everyone for your inputs which caused me to have such a wonderful "first" gingerbread cookie. Take time to read the reviews and go for it, this one will NOT dissapoint!! Btw, it made 16 4" gingerbread men. Don't give up on the dough, persevere and you will be rewarded!!! Use the pastry brush to get rid of powdery flour on them also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
It's a delicious cookie, but I agree with previous comments about it not being spicy enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Excellent! Followed Ingredients exactly with great results. I prefer a softrr cookie and cooked at 350 for 8 minutes. After they come out of the oven wait a couple mnutes to transfer to cooling rack so they dont break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This recipe has been a big hit with my family. I made them twice recently--as written. We all loved the cookies, decorated or not. They will be the go-to for gingerbread! Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I was VERY skeptical about this recipe. I had only blackstrap molasses, which is stronger than the regular kind. Then I read reviews that stated that the molasses was overpowering in their recipes. I ended up cutting the molasses in half (1/4 c) and then adding 1/4 c of agave nectar. I also cut the cloves down to 1/2 tsp. I was still worried until we tasted them. They are very good - even my ridiculously picky son liked them. We will make them again next Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Yum! I used 1/4 t of nutmeg and 3/4 t of cloves just because I was worried they would be overwhelming. It was still nicely spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I just made these to give away as Christmas gifts and they turned out really well. ^^ I cooked them exactly according to the directions except I made a double batch, one with honey instead of molasses and one with blackstrap molasses instead of milder molasses. I made maybe 12-14 cookies in total from each batch (I made them really thick) and baked them for about 8 minutes. They just came out of the oven a half hour ago and are still soft, but I can't judge their fully cooled softness. I will mention one thing though: the dough is pretty dry. When rolling out I recommend adding a slight bit of water to the dough. Also, give a good few hours for the dough to soften to roll out after refrigerating it. My honey one softened fairly quickly, but the molasses took about three hours to soften enough to roll. >
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EboFly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 918) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States