Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I followed the additions given by some of the other reviewers (3/4 cup brown sugar for the white sugar, bake for 7-8 minutes). I (like reviewer Rex) found that the dough was crumbly once I went to roll and bake them, so I sprinkled water on the dough as I worked it up to use. Very good flavour. I baked them for 7 minutes and even after cooling, they have some give. I will be adding this to my holiday repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Discovered this recipe a couple of years ago and fell in love with gingerbread men! I followed the instructions, didn't change a thing - they came out perfect. I do ice the cookies once they are cool. They stay chewy for close to a week. I barely get 36 cookies from this batch, so best to double it if makiing for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Love love love this recipe. I'm on my second batch this week. I do refrigerate longer (because I'm usually running around doing other things) and that may be the difference since I've had no issues with stickiness...if anything, I have to knead the dough to get it stickier. I also use a non stick rolling pin and a cookie mat instead of flouring the rolling surface which works wonderfully. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
the dough wouldn't roll out and I had to form the cookies like drop cookies. Other than that they were ok though. Kids were mighty disappointed we couldn't do shapes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Great recipe and i made it with my 2 year old daughter - so very easy. I rolled out the dough thin between two cooking sheets. They taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
didn't like at all - dough very sticky - cloves too strong...I'm looking for another recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I halved the recipe for our small family and used a whole egg and butter instead of margarine. I used blackstrap molasses and whole wheat flour and they were the best gingerbread cookies I have ever had. They were soft, flavorful, and so much fun to make. The spices are perfect. These seemed to cook very fast, but I just took them out when they were still tender to the touch. Great recipe, thanks for sharing! I will be making these again. I have never seen my 2 year old eat so many of any type of cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
It was yummy, decreased the cloves by half due to personal taste. Received lots of positive feedback; definite crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The List Maker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
we ate all of them in one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I tried this recipe last year and I can tell you this, loved it! the cookies melted in my mouth and were perfectly spiced. my only complaint is that the dough is a tad sticky, but I fixed that by keeping the dough in the fridge between batches and making sure to flour the rolling pin. And I'm definitely making this again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 918) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States