Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Great cookie recipe, used exactly as written except for butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janet7th
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made these today with my ten year old for a girls scout bake sale tomorrow. What a yummy recipe! Don't be discouraged by the negative reviews referring to sticky dough. This is a dream dough and I believe those reviews were transferred to this recipe when a different recipe was removed from the site. Easy to work with and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I have never made gingerbread cookies before and I made these with my two year old daughter. The recipe was super easy to follow and the cookies came out great, the perfect mix of spices! I rolled the first few cookies a bit too thin, so they definitely do need to be 1/4 inch in width. Thanks for the great recipe- I will be using this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Followed recipe exactly & chilled overnight. The dough was the consistency of muffin batter - super sticky. Added 1/2 cup more flour & used a lot of flour when rolling - worked out well. Tasted good & looked good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I've used this recipe for several years now and have never had a problem with it - I make it exactly as it is. The dough is easy to roll out and the cookies come out tasting fantastic. Do watch while they are in the oven - it depends on how thin you've rolled out your dough and how hot your oven runs. It's just common sense no matter what the cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This dough is VERY sticky to work with, there is a very heavy molasses flavour which over powers the spiciness and the final product is not crispy but chewy. I followed the recipe to a T wih the exception of adding more flour so that I could work with it, and I am very very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Everything you'd want in a gingerbread cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Kids loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa Sherman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Longwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I found the taste to be very good, although not spicy enough to give a kick - didn't need that though. I made these exactly as written. The cookies spread and end up thin and crispy, and the cut-out shapes became blobs only a little bit similar to what they should have looked like. Could be the atmosphere, the gas oven, or me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia I.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 960) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States