Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Doubled the recipe. Subbed butter for the margarine, and used additional spices (cardamom, star anise & cayenne). No issue with dough, gave it ample chilling time. Nicely spiced and lovely texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I have never been a fan of gingerbread cookies, until a friend shared her cookies from this recipe with me! The flavor was not overly powerful, yet lended just the right mount of spice. I'll definitely be making these again next Christmas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was a good recipe. I used black strap molasses and followed the recipe exactly. I found that keeping the dough thick made for chewy cookies. It was a nice adult gingerbread cookie- kind spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is, hands down, the best gingerbread recipe I've tried so far. I did make some changes. I used butter instead of margarine, 3/4 cup brown sugar instead of the white, and I doubled the spices because I love a very spicy cookie. The resulting cookies are soft and chewy, with a wonderful flavor, unlike many of the hard, flavorless recipes that I've found so far. I chilled the dough for several hours, starting it out in the freezer. This gave me plenty of time to roll it and cut it before it got too soft to work with. I didn't add any extra flour at the beginning, but I did flour my work surface. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyh77
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe is excellent if you like a spicy and slightly soft cookie. We doubled all spices except the cloves and added 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper. Cut outs are very difficult. What we do is roll out on parchment paper and then cut out the shapes but place them in the fridge. Then with the cutout metal still in place we remove the surrounding dough so they keep their shape. We bake them on the same parchment paper. We get rave reviews on these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Theresa were the best gingerbread cookie I've ever had. I did add the extra flour, as some reviewers suggested. I also have very small children and do not have the time to roll and cookie cut, so I teaspoon rolled them, then rolled them in green and red sprinkles for our holiday liking. I also pushed a small chocolate chip into the middle to look like the peanut butter kiss cookies. Super cute. Super yummy, and great with iced latte... Santa will be pleased to have these laid out for him...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
These cookies turned out great. I will make this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Dough was very dry. Had to add lots of oil to give it some moisture. My kids love the taste though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Good recipe. Very sticky dough but easily remedied by flouring your surface well before cutting out shapes. Also you can knead in extra flour if it's too sticky. Better too sticky than too dry which makes it impossible. If you can't make this recipe, then maybe you should buy your dough instead. Or stop baking altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Wow! Loved this recipe! The first gingerbread I've made that came out soft and delicious! They're usually crunchy. I accidentally put in the whole egg instead of just the yolk, and it was fine. And yes, this is a rolled cookie so you need to work in small batches, flour your work surface, your rolling pin, and your dough ball. Practice makes perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 921) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States