Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I added a touch more flour, I was more concerned with the cookie holding its shape for little ones to decorate than I was the texture while eating. I used a heaping Tbsp of Epicure Selections Gingerbread Spice instead of all of the spices and the cookie tastes fantastic. When I rolled it out, I did it in smaller sections (to punch 2 to 4 cookies at once, makes it less of a headache to roll, and ends up being more even (hard to even out a giant ball!). keep packing the scraps back into a ball and re-rolling, I got about 20 decent sized cookies (wilton silicone grip cutter-sized). Definitely make again, easy recipe! I would also say its not necessary to chill, because I ended up warming it up in my hands to roll better. Make them a little thicker than 1/4" if you want them to be sturdy enough for little hands, and I only baked for 7 minutes and even then the bottom was a touch too brown, but good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLAMORT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Dough was extremely soft and the taste was just OK for us. In taste, I prefer the Big Soft Ginger Cookies from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I love the flavor of the cookies this recipe produced, but struggled with its stickiness. Added up to 1 more cup of flour and put the dough in the freezer before I found it easy enough to work with. Definitely recommend, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Loved it! So easy and so tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Love it! My picky eaters love them as well! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
deliciously spicy. had to add at least a cup more flour to make the dough workable though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This is my favorite recipe for gingerbreads! I did not ltr the recipe at all. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Niedzwiecki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
These are perfect just the way the recipe is written....tender, spicy, and yummy. I liked that it didn't make a large batch. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lakelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly & they came out perfectly pretty & delishious! A new family favorite cookie! They were gone by the next morning! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PieKid
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I like this recipe but might add more spice next time. Be sure to ONLY use the egg yolk - I threw in the whole egg and I think that might be why I needed to add so much flour to roll them out. I did chill overnight but still sticky. Anyway, it's pretty good and I will use it again next year! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieKid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 951) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States