Eileen's Spicy Gingerbread Men Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Recipe is perfect as is, my family and friends enjoyed them very much during the holidays. Just a note I rolled them out in sugar instead of flour. The first time I made them I rolled them in flour and they came out terrible because of it. Also I suggest cut the ginger bread nice and thick so they stay soft and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashliev

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Turned out so yummy....added a little cayenne pepper to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacy Weyler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
These were perfect!! They stayed soft and were perfectly spicy!! I actually made two batches this year...a single and a double!!! I will be using this recipe every year from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I must start out by saying that we absolutely love this recipe! My family isn't too big on Gingerbread. Some of them said they didn't even like it. This recipe change their minds! I followed the recipe except for only two small changes. I added 3 extra tablespoons of flour, per another reviewers suggestion, and added just a bit more spice except for the clothes. I let the dough sit in the refrigerator overnight. By the next day it was a nice hard dough that rolled out nicely as it warmed. I left it very thick, just under half an inch. I wound up with eight very large gingerbread men and one small Christmas tree. I baked for the suggested 8 minutes, using my Christmas tree as a guide to see if they were finished. I pulled them out and noticed that the dough was still very wet. I put them in for a total of 4 minutes more. I let them cool on the cookie sheet and they came out absolutely perfect! I think they cooked a bit longer because my daughter was still pretty cold and I left them on the thick side.They were spicy and soft as promised, and even four days later they were still just as soft as the day I made them. Christmas is now over but I still want to go make another batch of these wonderful gingerbread cookies. I highly recommend you try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danita Robinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Great recipe. I made it just as it said. Agree with other reviewers that it can be a bit sticky. I separated it into two batches and put them in the fridge for a good six hours. They still needed a lot of flour to roll out, and next time I make them, I think I will separate into three sections as another reviewer advised. Working flour into them solves the problem, but it's very easy to overdo it and then the dough eventually becomes hard to work with. Other than that, though, great recipe, good flavor, spicy but not over the top, bakes up perfectly with almost no spreading and hold their shapes really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Made these for Christmas last year and they were very good after doubling the spices. Just made a new batch for Christmas 2014 and ended up throwing the entire batch out. Made these exactly the same using all the same measurements I used last year and they rolled out perfectly, they held their shape while baking, decorated with melted white chocolate and thank God I taste tested these before putting them out...very very pasty. I have no idea why they failed this year and were such a success last Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I like the spice after increasing the spices but feel it should be sweeter. I would add more sugar as well. As for the sticky issue that people are complaining about, yea it's sticky but, but refrigeration and a little flour used to roll it out fix that problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Pros- Flavours were great! Texture of the final cookie was very soft. Cons- dough was super difficult to roll and cut cookies from...I had to freeze it, add tons of flour and roll small batches between parchment paper. Most of that effort wad in vain bc the cookies blobbed out while baking.. They vaguely held their shape. Make sure to roll the dough very thin to help them keep their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Too spicy for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
these cookies are AMAZING! They are so good! I Loved that They held there shape No changes needed! Perfect as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 961) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States