Eighth Race Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
ooooh! So good! Gooey but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
For BEVTHEBROKER or anyone who has liquid in the pie/won't set: In my experience, when I overbeat the batter - beat too long or worse use an electric mixer too long or on too high a speed, it causes air to get into the batter and then as it releases when it cooks you get left with a soggy bottom in the crust or it doesn't cook all the way through, notably in the middle its raw. I've seen this happen to me with other recipes, mostly cakes. If you try it again, just stir to combine the ingredients once you cream the sugar and butter and corn syrup. See if this might help. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2000
Great recipe. The 8th race refers to the Kentucky Derby. This is an excellent version of the Derby or "Winner's Circle" pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WALTA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I made this recipe (with walnuts) for the thanksgiving holiday but I forgot it at home. So, 5 days later, I cut it into bars and served it at a dinner party. It still tasted as good as it did the day I made it. This recipe was rather simple and very delicious and sweet. The bourbon makes it extraordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
This is fabulous. I add a full cup of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
As good as pie gets. Didn't change anything. Oh Baby. Sinfully delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
This is a great pie. A bakery I used to work for also made this pie. It's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I have made this pie 3 times now and it is a hit everytime, especially with men. It tastes great with a chocolate cookie crust, as well as the traditional pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I've made this several times and always get complements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Defintely follow the advice to HAND-stir the ingredients in after creaming the butter and sugar! I used my mixer and even though I used the "stir" setting, my pie bubbled over and the inside was raw. The filling that bubbled over actually caught fire in the oven due to the bourbon HOWEVER, after allowing it to fully cool, it firmed up quite a bit and still tasted fantastic with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States