Egyptian Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LJ
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I liked it! I worked in and Egyptian restaurant that made the soup. But I used vegetable bouillon and upped it to 1 teaspoon. The Egyptians usually make it vegan he told me. I also added an additional Roma and more onion. And added a teaspoon of cayenne pepper. Blended in well in a blender and it was fantastic! I love crackers and mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Pretty good soup. Easy to make. I think I liked it better unblended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I will rate this a 5 because it is an excellent recipe. I prefer a balance of equal parts cumin to coriander powder though. Nevertheless it is very healthy and can be easily modified according to personal preference. If no fresh tomatoes are available, use a tbsp of tomato paste. If you like olive oil then sautee onions in it before adding the rest of the ingredients. Olive oil and a dash of lemon juice adds a nice finishing touch too. More people should try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I loved it! I followed the recipe as is. It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
We had this with fresh bread and butter, all five of us loved it, I changed it a little because I tripled it and added left over turkey and canned tomatoes and 3 stalks of celery, also used chicken broth for the first water. I have given 5 stars as all five of us has agreed that it should be a weekly meal. Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was super easy and delicious! My grandkids has never had lentils and they loved them! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This was fun and easy to make and it tastes great. I left about a 1/3 cup of the lentils whole. After blending, I added some frozen chopped spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Looking for something easy to make. This was delicious though I had to make a couple of changes. Only had green lentils (so the finished meal looks a bit like baby poop but, like I said, it's delicious!), ran out of cumin so could only put about 1 teaspoon in but I added some curry powder and it actually works. I'll be sure to get some more cumin though and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Excellent!!!! Easy to make and fantastic taste. I started "tasting"during cooking and after a while I realized I had almost eaten half a plate .....thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MelissaH
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Although it's not pretty to look at it has wonderful flavor. As others have done, I used chicken broth instead of water with great results. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. If I had had some, fresh cilantro would be a great garnish in addition to some crumbled chips. This recipe was similar to lentil soup I had recently at a Mediterranean restaurant. It's a very filling, satisfying soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States