Egyptian Koshari Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This looks SO GOOD that I'm sure it tastes awesome. The reviews helped a lot too. I'll definitely try this during this season, it seems perfect for colder days. Yum! I'll be back with a true review. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRISAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
good the way the recipe is written, but fantastic with fire roasted tomatoes, and cilantro and cumin on the side. also, be very careful to FULLY brown the onions and garlic, as that is really what makes this pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This was delicious after the alterations I made. Can't give any real quantities because I just eyeballed it, but I added lots of cumin, salt, pepper and cilantro to the onions and garlic while they were sauteeing. I also added a small can of tomato paste. Blended that all up to make the sauce smooth and I couldn't stop myself from second and third helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
The scent of the meal cooking was fantastic, but it came out quite bland actually. That was even after I added a tsp of cumin like some of the other reviews suggested. The recipe needs more tomatoes because the amount of rice/lentils/noodles is far too much which lent to it being bland and a bit dry after mixing it all together. For the look, I would definitely recommend adding some parsley to give it a nicer presentation. Probably won't make it again unless I figure out how to develop the spices into a tastier dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
i have learnt this almost 10 years ago from an egyptian friend.she just discribed me this recipe so that i can eat and get more kilos :) its heavy in deed and delicious.should really serve with lemon coz it needs to have a little bit soury taste.great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
The kids actually ate it pretty well! Used other members adjustments on the sauce and loved it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Decided that including the elbow macaroni would be excessive carbs: good idea! Recipe is great with fresh tomato and mushrooms added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This is one delishious meal! I love Egyptian food, (the people are wonderful too) and this is a favorite of mine. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Lover-Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino, California, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This was really good and satisfying! I did not have any diced tomatos so what I did was while the onions were cooking I added 2 1/2 tablespoons of hot red pepper paste and after this cooked I added everything together and it was so yummy! The family liked it and so did a couple of my co-workers. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I followed this recipes almost exactly with the exception of adding a little bit of cumin to the onions. Its a good recipe but I really didn't think it was spectacular. I felt like it needed something else. I'll definitely make it again just because its a simple lentil recipe and I'm always on the look out for new ways to cook lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States