Egyptian Koshari Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by CoffeeAddict
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I never thought this combination of ingredients would be so tasty, but it is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
The flavor and texture of this dish were great. However, if I make it again, I will double the sauce, as I prefer a less dry dish typically. Overall, a unique and yummy dish. I had everything in the pantry so it was easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Loved it! Reminds me of Cairo. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Great meal! We served lemons on the side and it added a lot. It's hard to believe such simple ingredients can have such a great complex flavor. We're picking a country a week to sample a meal from and this was our Egyptian meal. I'm a veg so it worked great. All four boys ate it and the 5 yr had three servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
We love this. Over the years I have changed it just a little. I add cilantro and kalamata olives(sliced) right before serving. I always put the crushed red pepper flakes on the table; just in case anyone wants a little more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladycharia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I liked this, but I think I liked it better than everyone else. It was a little bland, so I added a little here and there to spruce it up. Had it with naan, and it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I made this recipe using orzo pasta instead of elbow macaroni, and added an 8 oz can of no salt tomato sauce at the end (for a double batch) but other than that cooked it exactly as instructed. It came out excellent! Good thing I made a double batch, I can tell this is going to disappear fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
First off the amount of water to lentils/rice is completely wrong. I had the original 4 cups of water which was completely gone by the end of the first 25 mins. So when I added the rice I added an EXTRA 2 cups of water. It still cooked off all the water and burned before the rice was finished. Further more, the sauce as called for is bland. I ended up adding tomato paste and curry powder to it before it had any flavor at all. This dish is also severely lacking in salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Sauce was good, I added my own twist of cumin and cilantro. It still seemed to lack something.. Maybe I'll double up the sauce next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
great recipe. Instead of mixing everything up, I layered (more traditional that way). Really browned the onions and added cumin to the rice/lentil mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marrakesh Vegetable Curry

This meal is bursting with exotic, rich flavors, and is very easy to make.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States