Egusi Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
this is my favourite soup ever, as i am nigerian...you need to try this! absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This recipe is AUTHENTIC, Egusi is eatten all over West Africa, this is the Nigerian version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Call me crazy but collard greens work better than spinach with this recipe. This was GREAT. My husband's parents are from Liberia and they are big fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2000
This recipe really satisfies my craving for diversness in cuisine. It tastes simply wonderful and I would love to see more recipes native to the African continent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2000
It's a very nice soup if you're entertaining a number of people. It's unique, filled with all kinds of good stuff and very, very, very rich. It almost has a "bisque" quality to it, but "nutty" as well. I used fresh crab, which made it tiring to make -- and as careful as we were in taking the meat out of the shell, we still found shell bits in our soup. My mistake was trying to eat the entire recipe over the course of a number of consecutive days. It's way too rich to try to eat it that way. Again, highly recommended to give to people as a one course appetizer at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2000
The spinach can be replaced by any type of green leafy vegetable, we especially liked this soup using shredded cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2001
Delicious. I cut the on-line recipe in half and it worked just as well. I also used chicken stock in lieu of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
The use of pumkin seeds can be a useful substitute if Melon Seeds are not available, enabling an approximation of the flavour of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2000
Flavor and texture was surprisingly delicious. Got an ovation from my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States